我如何完成700頁的書

100 Front Cover 20051222.JPG

頭兩年寫書很容易

2000年,我住在東京,我開始在業餘時間寫關於勇氣的書。一切進展順利,直到2002年初。我每天都會寫另一篇關於勇氣的文章,並與朋友分享以徵求反饋。德懷特-Next德懷特-Now都很高興。

但是後來德懷特·諾夫(Dwight-Now)不願意快樂地繼續下去。

該書(主要是論文)的草稿已經完成。但是現在我需要坐下來逐行閱讀我的書,問自己如何提高英語以及每一點的清晰度。 Dwight-Next對我們到目前為止所做的事情感到非常高興,並希望繼續完成所有工作並出版這本書。但是Dwight-Now對“編輯這本書”的想法並不滿意,這種想法對他來說很無聊。

持久性的全新方法

在過去,我要么試圖“迫使” Dwight-Now繼續,要么我放棄了Dwight-Next,並指責Dwight-Now不合作。但是到了我生命中的這個時候,德懷特-奈瑟斯變得更聰明了。他知道最有可能成功的方法是提出一個新問題:“德懷特·諾夫(Dwight-Now)如何享受本書的編輯過程?”

花了三週的時間提出了Dwight-Now喜歡的想法

我一直在問一個問題:“德懷特·諾夫現在如何享受這本書的編輯過程?”我讓潛意識裡的東西都燉了。然後打我。這次我住在上海,我在一個本地網站上刊登了一個廣告,廣告內容是“聽書者”。這個職位我收到了很多申請。年輕的中國人渴望在聽英語為母語的同時獲得提高英語水平的機會(我也付了象徵性的費用)。

一個年輕的中國女人坐在我電腦旁。第一天,我對她撒謊:“當我大聲朗讀這些文章時,您的工作是就如何提高英語提出建議。”通常,在兩天之內,她沒有提出任何建議(我所處理的英語技巧超出了她目前的英語水平),但她內me地對我說:“對不起,我認為我沒有很大的幫助。”

這時候我知道她對我感到很舒服。她知道我是一個安全(而且很好)的人。我對她說了實話:“你在幫忙!有了你,一個年輕的中國美女在我讀的時候在聽我說話,我什麼都可以享受!”

我的匿名“共同作者”

感謝許多年輕的匿名中國女性,我很容易就能在2004年7月之前完成並出版我的勇氣書。寫這本書的四年是我的全部榮幸,這是我一生中完成的最大的項目(對此我感到非常自豪)。如果我在整個項目期間都沒有專注於創建和維護Now / Next完整性,那將永遠不會成功完成。

How I finished my 700-page book

100 Front Cover 20051222.JPG

Writing my book was easy for the first two years

I started writing my book about courage (in my spare time) in the year 2000, when I was living in Tokyo. Everything went smoothly until near the beginning of 2002. Each day I would work on another essay about courage and I would share it with friends for feedback. Both Dwight-Next and Dwight-Now were happy.

But then Dwight-Now was not willing to happily continue.

The draft writing of the book (mostly essays) was finished. But now I needed to sit down and review my book line-by-line, asking myself how to improve the English as well as the clarity of each point. Dwight-Next was very happy about what we had done so far and wanted to continue to complete everything and to publish the book. But Dwight-Now was not happy with the idea of "editing the book," which occurred as boring to him. 

A fundamentally new approach to persistence

In the past I would have either tried to "force" Dwight-Now to continue or Dwight-Next would have given up and blamed Dwight-Now for not cooperating. But by this time in my life, Dwight-Next was a bit wiser. He knew that the way most likely to succeed was by asking a new question, "How could Dwight-Now enjoy the process of editing the book?"

It took three weeks to come up with an idea that Dwight-Now liked

I kept asking the question, "How could Dwight-Now enjoy the process of editing the book?" I let my unconscious mind stew on it. Then it hit me. Living in Shanghai by this time, I put an ad in a local website advertising for a "book listener." I received many applications for this position. Young Chinese people were eager to get a chance to improve their English while listening to a native English speaker (I also paid a token fee). 

A young Chinese woman would sit beside me at my computer. On the first day I lied to her, "As I am reading these essays out loud, your job is to make suggestions on how the English might be improved." Usually, within two days, having made no suggestions (the English subtleties I was dealing with were beyond her current English level), she guiltily said to me, "I am sorry, I don't think I am helping very much."

By this time I knew she felt comfortable with me; she knew I was a safe (and good) man. I told her the truth, "You're helping a lot! With you, as a young attractive Chinese woman listening to me as I read, I can enjoy anything!" 

My anonymous "co-writers"

Thanks to many young anonymous Chinese women, I was easily able to finish and publish my courage book by July, 2004. Thanks to you women! The four years of writing my book was a total pleasure and it's the biggest project (of which I am immensely proud) that I've ever finished in my life. It would never have been successfully completed if I hadn't focused on creating and maintaining Now/Next integrity for the full duration of the project.

COPYRIGHT 2018-2020 BY DWIGHT GOLDWINDE