1958年的一些生活失敗

在《我的歪曲人生紀事》中的某些帖子(如此)在我生命的特定年份內沒有發生。我沒有什麼理由就選擇了一個隨機年份發布這些年份。

不能把時鐘放回去

我們有一個舊的掛鐘沒有用(四歲時住在田納西州的特雷西市)。我問媽媽是否可以拆開並放回原處。我把它拆開了。我要么無法忍受,要么沒有足夠的耐心將其放回原處。我的母親給我留下了深刻的印象,我能夠把它分開。

失望的雞蛋大戰沒有播出

我用祖父農場的雞蛋組織了一次無線電廣播的打蛋活動(也許我10歲)。我的祖父不得不丟棄一些雞蛋,因為在對蠟燭進行蠟燭處理時,發現雞蛋內有一個血斑。我母親開車送我到野外區域(還有其他幾個男孩和雞蛋)。不管出於什麼原因,廣播電台都沒有準備好,要求重新安排打蛋的時間。因為這對我母親來說是一種努力(對我們男孩來說是一種失望),所以我們沒有堅持到底。

從未到過中國很遠

我開始在南卡羅來納州弗拉特洛克的後院開挖一個中國的洞(可能只有十二歲)。我得到了姐姐凱倫(Karen)的幫助。我中的大多數人都知道這是不可能的,但無論如何我還是想嘗試一下,如果不是去中國,至少我可以挖一個令人印象深刻的漏洞。洞的直徑為3.5英尺,我們挖到了約5英尺。當我搬到北卡羅萊納州的謝爾比時,那是我升入10年級的那一年,我不得不填補空缺。這比挖掘它要快得多!

無法避免辭職

當我意識到父親十二歲那年對生活的辭職時,我向自己保證,我會保持孩子的遊戲,好奇心和冒險精神在我體內。我沒有成功。而且,隨著我多年來的生活發展,我的生活似乎越來越艱難。但是,在32歲那年,我度過了一個週末的“強化班”,帶領我的納撒尼爾·布蘭登博士。在他帶領我們完成工作坊的一次戲劇性練習中,我將我五歲的孩子重新擁有了。從那時起,生活有了新的輕鬆和快樂。

芭芭拉從沒注意到我

我從十二歲起就愛上了芭芭拉·麥當勞(Barbara McDonald)。我希望她喜歡/愛我。我不願說什麼或做任何事情來表達我對她的愛。我寄託著她(每天在校車站見她),直到搬到北卡羅來納州的謝爾比為止。在她的情況下,似乎是“看不見,心不在””。

Some life failures-1958

Some of the posting (like this one) within "Chronicles of my Crooked Life" did not occur within a specific year of my life. With little justification I chose a random year for posting these.

Couldn’t put the clock back together

 

We had an old wall clock that did not work (living in Tracy City, Tennessee at age four). I asked my mother if I could take it apart and put it back together. I got it apart okay. I was either unable or not patient enough to get it back together. My mother was impressed that I was able to get it apart.

Disappointed the egg fight didn’t get broadcast

 

I organized a radio-broadcasted egg-fight (maybe I was 10 years old), using eggs from my grandfather’s farm. My grandfather had to discard some eggs because, when they were candled, a blood-spot was noticed inside the egg. My mother drove me to the field area (with a few other boys and the eggs) where the broadcast was venued. The radio station, for whatever reasons, was not ready and asked to reschedule the egg fight. Because it was such an effort for my mother (and a disappointment for us boys), we didn’t follow through on that.

Never made it very far to China

 

I started digging a hole to China in our backyard in Flatrock, South Carolina (maybe at twelve years old). I got my sister Karen to help with it. Most of me knew it was impossible, but I wanted to try anyway and, if not to China, at least I could dig an impressive hole. The hole was 3.5 feet in diameter and we dug down to about five feet. When we moved to Shelby, North Carolina, the year I was going into the tenth grade, I had to fill the hole up. That went a lot faster than digging it!

Couldn’t avoid becoming resigned

 

Noticing my father’s resignation about life when I was twelve years old, I promised myself that I would keep the child’s spirit of play, curiosity, and adventure alive within me. I was not successful in that. And, as my life progressed over the years, my life seemed harder and harder. However, at age 32, I took a weekend “Intensive” lead my Dr. Nathaniel Branden. In a dramatic exercise that he led us through in the workshop, I re-owned my five-year old child inside. From that point, life had a new ease and joy to it.

Barbara never noticed me

 

I was in love with Barbara McDonald from age twelve. I wanted her to like/love me. I was unwilling to say anything or do anything to express my love for her. I pined for her (seeing her everyday at the school bus stop) until I moved to Shelby, North Carolina. In her case, it seems, “out of sight, out of mind.”