我注意到我的自動反應

語境

某人(通常對您來說很重要)說或做某事,激發您感到傷害,憤怒,退縮,防禦(或有其他一些不想要的感覺或思想)。您希望做出回應,以免隱藏自己的感覺/想法,但與此同時,您可能會朝著比膝關節做出的回應(或保持沉默)更好的結果邁進。

妙語

“我只是注意到您說的話(自動)會自動刺激我的機器感到受傷(請說出特定的感覺)。我很好奇我的機器可能誤解了您的意思。我想了解您的意思。試圖對我說的是為自己做的還是為我們的關係做的?”

例子

我的客戶房地產經紀人帕梅拉(Pamela)告訴我,她的密友吉爾(Jill)最近(決定與丈夫離婚後)將她的房子推向市場。但是,她沒有與Pamela一起列出她的房屋,而是與其他經紀人一起列出了房屋,Pamela間接了解了該房屋。帕梅拉(Pamela)感到受傷,甚至被吉爾(Jill)出賣了。她不知道該對吉爾說些什麼。

經過一番指導,我建議帕梅拉(Pamela)跟吉爾(她這樣做):

“吉爾,我一直在註意自己不喜歡的自動反應。我想也許我做了一個不正確的假設。因為我非常珍惜與您的關係,所以我需要與您核實,好的? ...

“我最近發現您正在出售您和您的前夫所擁有的房屋,並且您決定將房屋與另一位房地產經紀人一起列出。也許我做了一個不恰當的假設,但我會以為您會列出而且,當我了解到這一點並且因為您沒有告訴我您正在與其他人列出這所房子時,我的想法不僅做出了反應,不僅感到受了傷害,而且還有些被出賣了。我很好奇地向我學習您真正發生的事情使您決定與其他人列出您的房屋,也不想告訴我。我知道您一定有充分的理由。”

帕梅拉驚訝地發現了為什麼吉爾做了她所做的事情。這與帕梅拉在她腦海中編造的故事大不相同。

吉爾(Jill)解釋說,她先前與前夫有一份書面協議,同意他可以繼續住在房子裡(吉爾在決定離婚時搬了出去),並且在有時間賣掉時他會幫忙證明這一點。他們的財產和解協議還規定,吉爾將獲得出售房屋所得淨收入的90%,而她的前任將獲得10%。

她的前任是一個讓他感到自在的頑固主義者(這是導致他們分手的許多因素之一)。他堅持認為,如果他要“感覺合作”來展示房子,那麼他們就必須聘用一位房地產經紀人,他是他的好朋友。儘管吉爾已經計劃要帕梅拉列出這所房子,但她還是感到自己在前任的要求下陷入困境。

然後,吉爾(Jill)解釋說,她擔心帕梅拉(Pamela)會責怪她“不支持他們的友誼”,所以她避免叫她告訴她發生了什麼事以及她為適應前任而做出的決定。她很後悔自己沒有選擇打電話給她並與她談論發生的事情的勇氣。她向帕梅拉保證不會再做那樣的事情,並希望帕梅拉能原諒她。

帕梅拉(Pamela)了解導致吉爾(Jill)做她所做的一切事情之後,很容易原諒她,她甚至感到他們的關係比以前更牢固,更信任。

*020210322.jpg

I noticed my automatic reaction

Context

Someone (usually important to you) said or did something that stimulated you to feel hurt, anger, withdrawn, defensive (or to have some other unwanted feeling or thought). You want to respond so that you don't hide your feeling/thought but, at the same time, you're likely to move toward a better outcome than a knee-jerk response (or by keeping silent) would create.

Wonder Words

"I just noticed that what you just said (did) automatically stimulated my machinery to feel hurt (name the specific feeling). I'm curious to learn about how my machinery probably misinterpreted what you meant. And I want to understand what you were trying to do for yourself or do for our relationship by saying that to me?"

Example

My client Pamela, a real estate agent, told me that her close friend Jill had recently put her house on the market (after a decision to divorce with her husband). But, instead of listing her house with Pamela, she listed it with some other agent and Pamela learned about it indirectly. Pamela felt hurt and even a bit betrayed by Jill. She didn't know what to say to Jill. 

After some coaching, I suggested that Pamela say this to Jill (which she did):

"Jill, I've been noticing an automatic reaction of my mind that I don't like. I think maybe I made an assumption that's not true. Because I so value my relationship with you, I need to check it out with you, okay? ... 

"I recently found out that you're selling the house that you and your ex-husband own and that you decided to list the house with another real estate agent. Maybe I made an inappropriate assumption, but I would have thought you would have listed the house with me. Also, when I learned this and because you didn't tell me that you were listing it with someone else, my mind just reacted with not only feeling hurt but also feeling a bit betrayed. I am curious to learn from you what really happened that made you decide to list your house with someone else and also to not tell me about it. I know you must have had good reasons."

Pamela was surprised to find out why Jill did what she did. It was very different than the stories that Pamela was making up in her mind.

 

Jill explained that she had a previous written agreement with her ex-husband that he could continue to live in the house (Jill had moved out when they decided to divorce) and he would help show it when the time came to sell it. Their property-settlement agreement also stipulated that Jill would receive 90% of the net income that came from selling the house, with her ex getting 10%. 

Her ex was a stickler for who he felt comfortable dealing with (this was one of many factors that contributed to their breakup). He insisted that, if he was going to "feel cooperative" in showing the house, then they had to use a real estate agent that was his good friend. Even though Jill had already planned to ask Pamela to list the house, she felt between a rock-and-a-hard place with her ex's demand, which she gave into. 

And then, Jill explained, she felt afraid that Pamela would blame her for "not standing up for their friendship" so she avoided calling her to tell her about what happened and about the decision she made in order to accommodate her ex. She so regretted that she didn't choose courage to call her and talk with her about what was happened. She promised Pamela that she would never do anything like that again and hoped that Pamela could forgive her. 

After Pamela understood all the background stuff that led Jill to do what she did, it was easy to forgive her and she even felt that their relationship was stronger and more trusting than before.

*020210322.jpg