0lifeeasy.jpg

生活怎麼會那麼輕鬆?

生活艱難。不是很好。有點悲慘。
-TJ米勒

我已經閱讀並研究了數百本有關生活以及如何過上更好生活的書。一個錯誤,幾乎我所敬佩的每一個有思想的思想家最終都宣稱“這部分將很難”。整個哲學和宗教都基於“生活艱難”的思想。每個故事,每個道德,每個戲劇都要求角色經歷艱難或艱難的事情。否則,它甚至都不會變得有趣。生活不一定非要這樣嗎?這種信念會成為自我實現的預言嗎?

原則和程序

消除所有痛苦

從你的生活

(要知道20-35分鐘)

...繼續閱讀...

有趣的問題和痛苦的問題

我們每個人都面臨兩種類型的問題:造成痛苦的問題和沒有造成痛苦的問題。

這兩種類型有時可能會合而為一,但它們是截然不同的。例如,假設您想學習騎自行車。問題是學習如何騎自行車。因此,這只是一件有趣的事情,需要解決的有趣問題。但是,您可能會遇到學習騎自行車的另一種問題。您沉迷於以下一種或多種想法:“我這樣的年齡學習會顯得很愚蠢。我應該能夠更快地學習。如果我永遠騎不完自行車怎麼辦?我的朋友約翰將永遠比我騎得更好。”這些想法會激發焦慮和自責,並導致您遭受痛苦。沒有這些想法,學習騎自行車只是有趣而有趣。有了這些想法,您就受苦了。

在閱讀和研究本博覽會(需要20-35分鐘)的過程中,您將學習如何解決導致痛苦的所有問題。

無論您遇到什麼問題,最好首先解決該問題的所有苦難方面。一旦痛苦消除,那麼即使您“失敗”,仍然存在的任何問題(例如學習騎自行車的問題)將變得輕鬆而有趣。

了解並學習以下原則,逐步使用它們,將消除所有痛苦,並確保您是自己最好的朋友和自己最好的粉絲。

導致痛苦的兩種類型的問題

兩種類型的問題都會造成所有苦難。解決這兩種類型問題的原理相似,但也有所不同。根據您遇到的問題類型,遵循以下原則,問題和過程,如下所述。請注意,有時問題是兩種類型的,您必須同時使用兩組原則。

第一種是Now-Next問題(稍後說明)。通過創建Now-Next完整性可以解決這些問題。

這是一個常見的Now-Next問題,“我是為了娛樂而吃飯還是為了健康而吃飯?”如果我是為了娛樂而吃飯,那麼我的Now現在只是想要快樂和舒適的部分)就很滿足。但是我的下一個(我希望自己的未來和健康狀況良好的那一部分)並不高興,並且會怪罪我的當下,我會感到內。另一方面,如果我為了健康而吃飯,那麼我的下一個就很快樂。但是我的Now會感到被剝奪並且沒有得到照顧。無論選擇哪種方式,我的一部分都會迷失。

第二類是“自己-他人”問題(也將在短期內進行解釋)。這些可以通過建立自己-他人的完整性來解決。例如,考慮以下問題:“我是要成為一個善良的人,只是聽我的朋友抱怨他們的問題,還是我想辦法縮短這段談話的時間,也許會傷害我朋友的感覺?”同樣,無論選擇哪種方式,我的一部分都會迷失方向。

“現在下一個”問題比“其他人”問題更為根本。如果一個問題同時具有Now-Next和Oneother-Others組件,則通過首先解決所有Now-Next問題,您可以更輕鬆地解決可能仍然存在的任何Otherself-Others問題。進一步說明,如果兩個人之間存在衝突,並且兩個人都只是在短距離範圍內行動(他們在這種特定情況下還沒有解決Now-Next問題),那麼他們將無法輕鬆解決“自己-他人”問題。目睹兩個人因為首先開始戰鬥而激怒了。雙方都沒有長遠的眼光(他們還沒有整合他們的Now和Next)。因此,可能無法有效解決“他人-他人”問題。

了解和撤消Now-Next問題的方法

讓我們看一下解決所有Now-Next問題背後的基本真理,問題和過程。

  1. 一生的目的是要幸福,短期和長期。如果您還不確定這確實是真的,那麼請以幸福為最終目的。

  2. 您的Now負責確保您短期內快樂。

  3. 您的下一位負責確保您將來(長期)幸福。

  4. 雙方都負責幸福;在每個給定情況下,每個人所負責的時間跨度都不同。請注意,當您的下一個成為您的現在時,它不再是您的下一個,然後您將擁有一些新的下一個。為了說明這一點,在我撰寫本文時,Dwight-Now很喜歡撰寫本文,Dwight-Next正在計劃併計劃明天下午3點與朋友分享。明天與朋友分享時,那將是我的新Dwight-Now(目前是我的Dwight-Nexts之一)。明天下午3時,我將計劃並期待其他一些新的Dwight-Next。

  5. 只要您還活著,您的Now和Next始終會在一起。他們終生結婚。離婚是不可選擇的。您的即時消息不能與您的下一個告別,您的即時消息不能與您的下一個告別。

  6. 學會注意每當您遇到“立即發生下一次沖突”時,最重要和最緊迫的任務是在繼續進行其他任何操作之前解決該衝突。誠信至上!

  7. 通常,您已經被告知(就像我們所有人一樣),當您自己的這兩個部分之間發生衝突時,請相信您的下一個比現在的重要。您將Next視為好人,將Now視為有時的壞人。如果您的Now想要與Next想要的東西沖突,則他或她是壞人,必須被忽略,抵製或屈服。照顧好自己的未來,堅持不懈,制定目標,制定計劃和耐心是主要優點,通常會以犧牲“現在”為代價。而且,在任何時候,如果您的Now犧牲了Next的需求就可以控制自己,那麼Next就會責備您的Now,您會感到內,並且常常灰心。這些文化上認可和鼓勵的價值觀以及處理您的當下與下一個之間發生的任何衝突的方法,使生活變得艱難,您遭受痛苦。您不是自己最好的朋友,也不是自己的粉絲。

撤消現在下一個問題

有了這些基本的事實和原則,得到創造幸福的新科學的證實,苦難的終點就在於學習各種方法來回答以下新問題(尤其是當您注意到“現在至下一個”衝突時)。

  1. “在這種情況下,我的Now和Next怎麼都快樂?”

  2. “我的Now Now現在快樂嗎? “我的下一個”是否表達了對我現在的需求的尊重和考慮?我的下一個幸福現在是嗎?我是否對下一個的需求表示尊重和考慮?”

  3. 或更具體地說,在某些情況下,您可以問:“我的Now如何享受Next想要我做的過程,以便Next能夠獲得他或她將來想要的東西?”

  4. 另外,每週或定期問自己:“如何改變生活方式以支持Now和Next之間的輕鬆對接?”只有把生活方式和享受過程放在首位,然後把結果放在第二位,才能在Now和Next之間建立簡單,幾乎無縫的結合。

有幾種方法可用來解決可能出現的“立即發生下一個衝突”。這些食譜在NNI工具包中列出。

以下是用於創建Now-Next完整性的各種工具的部分標題:

  1. 只需提出問題即可(提出某些關鍵問題通常可以提供快速答案,以便Now and Next可以達成共識)

  2. 轉彎(表示對雙方的尊重)

  3. 與其他人一起做(這常常使Now和Next可以得到他或她想要的東西,經常為任務增加附加值)

  4. 在有希望的情況下(這對Now和Next都有利)

  5. 降低您的標準(使Now可以玩得開心,並且Next和Next仍然足夠好,可以長期獲得他或她想要的東西)

  6. 逐步(再次,現在和下一步都受益)

  7. 每週九分鐘保持健康(對於Now如此簡單,對於Next而言如此之好)

  8. 行事者和計劃者(設置日期,以便“現在”和“下一個”均獲勝)

  9. 你的生活是自助餐嗎? (將享受過程優先於結果)

  10. 生活方式第一,結果第二(正如它所說的那樣,從總體上看,您還將獲得更多結果)

  11. 消除恐懼(抗拒恐懼使Now-Next對齊更加困難)

  12. 消除壓力(顯然對於Now和Next都更好)

  13. 放棄期望(您會驚訝於它如何增加Now-Next完整性)

  14. 在場,放慢腳步(Next仍然可以快樂,Now真的很喜歡)

  15. 小型慶典(不要等待大型慶典慶祝)

  16. 創建持久性(最簡單,最可靠的持久性方式)

理解和消除自己的方式-其他問題

現在,讓我們看一下解決所有其他自我問題的基本真理,問題和程序。

  1. 自己就是您的一部分,其職責是照顧自己並滿足自己的需求。

  2. 他人是您的一部分,其利益是照顧他人,取悅他人,對他人好看,避免被他人指責以及與他人建立良好的關係。

  3. 儘管您關心他人,其他人也關心您,但宇宙/上帝將您帶入您的身心的原因是,您的第一要務是照顧好自己。最終,您是什麼才是最符合自己最大利益的最終法官,而不是其他任何人。其他人也是如此。

  4. 學會注意每當有自己與他人的衝突時,最重要和緊迫的任務是在繼續進行其他任何操作之前解決該衝突。誠信至上!有時,尚未解決的Now-Next問題加劇了這些衝突。一旦解決了所有相關的“下一步”問題,彼此之間的衝突就更容易解決。

  5. 總的來說,您已經被教導(就像我們所有人一樣),只要您自己和他人之間發生衝突,您就應該認為自己(他人)比自己更重要。您相信別人是好人,自己是有時的壞人。而且,如果您自己想要的東西與您他人的想要的東西沖突,則必須忽略,抵製或制服他(她)。您必須為他人的需求犧牲自己的需求。善待他人,為他人服務,對他人寬容,將他人擺在自己面前,對他人友善以及與他人保持良好的關係是主要的美德,而這些行為常常以犧牲自己為代價。如果您自己控制(而您自私地採取行動)以犧牲他人的意願為代價,那麼他人就會責備您自己,您會感到內。這些價值觀,信念和態度在您自己和他人之間造成了持續不斷的戰鬥。由於這些反復發生的衝突,生活變得艱難而又不公平(您將自己視為受害者)並且遭受了痛苦。同樣,您不是自己最好的朋友,也不是自己的粉絲。有兩個例子:您向朋友借錢(為他人做事),並且您感到被利用了。或者,另一方面,您不邀請表親參加婚禮(為自己做事),而您會感到內。一種或另一種方式,無論您選擇哪種方式,總是會失敗。

放棄自己-其他問題

有了這些基本事實,再加上建立良好人際關係的新科學,苦難的終點就在於學習各種方法來回答以下新問題(當您與他人發生衝突時),

  1. “在這種情況下,我該如何同時照顧自己和另一個人?我的自身利益(短期和長期)及其自身利益如何一起工作?我的自私與他們的自私如何相吻合?”

  2. “我現在自己開心嗎?我的他人是否對自己的需求表示尊重和考慮?我的其他人現在快樂嗎?我自己是否對他人的需求表示尊重和考慮?他們倆怎麼能幸福?”

  3. 或更具體地說,在某些情況下,您可以問:“我自己如何享受別人希望我為另一個人做的過程?”

  4. 另外,每週或定期問自己:“我該如何改變自己的生活方式和與他人的界限,以支持自己與他人之間的輕鬆融合?”

這是創建Now-Next完整性與創建Oneone-Others完整性之間的一些區別。

  1. 您永遠無法將Now和Next分開。他們永遠不能彼此走開。相反,在與任何其他特定人的關係中,說“不”,創建界限,甚至走開都是選擇。而且,自相矛盾的是,如果您一生中與某個特定的人刪除這些選項,您通常會失去與該人建立最佳關係的能力。試圖消除人際關係中的所有風險最終會造成更大的風險(對您自己和他們而言)。例如:雙方絕對確定伴侶永遠不會離開的婚姻,往往視配偶為理所當然,並且對他們的待遇不佳(這可能同時發生)。另一方面,考慮那些每個伴侶都知道的婚姻,如果他們對配偶的待遇不佳,那麼他或她很可能會走路。這些婚姻常常被證明是最好的。更多的風險意識實際上會產生更好的結果。

  2. 使用Now and Next,您的工作就是照顧他們兩個。但是,出於對自己和他人的關心,您的第一要務是照顧好自己,並且出於照顧他人(對他人好看)的願望,請確保在照顧自己時同一時間。當然,照顧自己是別人的第一工作。但這最終是他們的責任,最終是他們的業務。

  3. 如果在照顧自己和照顧他人之間發生衝突(考慮短期和長期的利益和可能性以及成本和風險),而您又無法解決彼此之間的相互滿足, ,請勇氣說出“不”,創建或維護邊界或走開,以優先考慮自己。不能犧牲自我。

菜單上提供了各種方法,可以解決在不同情況下可能出現的任何“自己與他人”衝突。這些食譜在OOI工具箱中有詳細介紹。

以下是一些用於創建“自己-他人”完整性的工具的標題:

  1. 放棄期望(期望是我們對自己撒謊並讓我們為與他人相處而感到沮喪的方式)

  2. 避免恐懼(抵抗恐懼會使良好的人際關係更加困難)

  3. 放心擔心(與此處相同)

  4. 消除壓力(與此處相同)

  5. 夥伴關係對話(這是解決與他人可能發生的任何衝突的白金標準)

  6. 承擔100%的責任(當您對與他人之間的關係的質量承擔的責任不足100%時,您將放棄部分權力)

  7. 尊重。愛(表現出尊重和愛,可以建立更好的關係)

  8. 成為自己最好的朋友(如果您還不是自己最好的朋友,很可能會破壞您與他人的關係)

  9. 避免內(自責會在任何關係中造成困難)

  10. 放棄成為受害者(如果您覺得自己是另一個人的受害者,那麼您的回應很可能會讓他們覺得他們是您的受害者。

  11. 不做事(當您與現實鬥爭時,每個人都會迷失;這對於Now-Next完整性也是必不可少的)

  12. 與他人建立並保持良好的界限(良好的界限可以建立良好的關係)

  13. 這與您無關(是的,您的行為可能會影響他人對您的反應,但無論別人如何看待您,您是誰才是好人)

  14. 傾聽(聆聽使一切變得不同;將聆聽與服從區分開來)

  15. 傾聽他們對您的傾聽(創建緊密的反饋循環以提高理解和效率)

結論:您可以通過理解和遵循基本原則和方法來消除現在生活中的所有苦難,以創建Now-Next和“他人與他人”的完整性。

您現在知道了“大局如何”可以消除任何造成痛苦的問題。逐步學習,實施和習慣這些新程序。您會發現輕鬆,成就,聯繫,喜悅和幸福(我們的自然狀態)的生活。

查看您的Primo習慣;利用這種養馬習慣,您的生活可能會變得如此輕鬆。

0sign-1865303_1920.jpg
0angel-1939761_1920.png
0children-817365_1920.jpg
*020210217.jpg

"ASK DWIGHT HOW" 365/24/7

 

 

USA voice: 206-923-9554

USA text: 206-457-2817

COPYRIGHT 2018-2020 BY DWIGHT GOLDWINDE

Principles and procedures

to remove all suffering

from your life

(20-35 minutes to know how)

...just keep reading...

Fun problems and suffering problems

Two types of problems confront each one of us: those that cause suffering and those that don’t.

 

These two types may sometimes appear as one, but they are quite distinct. For instance, let’s say you want to learn to ride a bicycle. The problem is to learn how to ride a bicycle. As such, it is just a fun thing to do, a fun problem to solve. However, you may collapse another type of problem to the task of learning to ride a bicycle. You indulge in the following thoughts: “I’ll look foolish trying to learn at my age. I should be able to learn faster. What if I can never ride a bicycle well enough?” These thoughts stimulate anxiety and self-blame and cause you to suffer. Without these thoughts, learning to ride a bicycle is just interesting and fun. With these thoughts, you suffer.

 

As you read through and study this exposition (it will take you 20-35 minutes), you will learn how to solve any and all problems that cause suffering.

 

Whatever problem that you are confronted with, it’s best to resolve any suffering aspect of that problem first. Once any suffering has been removed, then any problem that remains (like the problem of learning to ride the bicycle) will be easy to address.

 

Knowing and learning the following principles, using them step by step, will remove suffering and you’ll experience being your own best friend and your own best fan.

Two types of problems that cause suffering

Two types of problems are the cause of all suffering. The principles that solve these two types of problems are similar, yet also differ somewhat. Follow these principles, questions, and procedures according to which type of problem you have, as detailed below. Note that sometimes a problem is of both types and you must use both sets of principles.

 

The first type are Now/Next problems (to be explained shortly). These are solved by creating Now/Next integrity.

 

Here is a common problem of this type, “Am I going to eat for pleasure or eat for health?” If I eat for pleasure, then my Now (the part of me that just want to be happy and comfortable now) is satisfied. But my Next (the part of me that wants my future and my health to be good) is not and will likely blame my Now and I’ll feel guilty. On the other hand, if I eat for health, my Next is happy. But my Now will feel deprived and not taken care of. Either way I choose, a part of me will lose.

 

The second type are Oneself/Others problems (also explained shortly). These are solved by creating Oneself/Others integrity. For example, consider the problem, “Am I going to be a kind person and just listen to my friend complain about their problem or am I going to figure out a way to cut this conversation short and maybe hurt my friend’s feelings?” Again, either way I choose, a part of me will lose.

 

Now/Next problems are more fundamental than Oneself/Others problems. If a problem has both Now/Next and Oneself/Others components, then, by first resolving any Now/Next issues, you can more easily solve any Oneself/Others problems that may remain. To explain further, if a conflict exists between two people, and both are acting only short-range (they have not solved the Now/Next problem in that particular circumstance), then they will not be able to easily resolve the Oneself/Others problem. Witness two people who are angrily fighting each other over who started the fight first. Neither is thinking long-range (they have not integrated their Now and their Next). Consequently, the Oneself/Others problem will occur as impossible to address effectively.

 

Ways to understand and undo Now/Next problems

Let’s look at the basic truths, questions, and procedures behind resolving all Now/Next problems.

 

  1. The purpose of your life is to be happy, both short-term and long-term. If you’re not already clear that this is indeed true, check out this link: happiness as the ultimate purpose.

  2. Your Now is in charge of making sure you’re happy short-term.

  3. Your Next is in charge of ensuring that you’re happy in the future (long-term).

  4. Both are in charge of happiness; they just have different time-spans in any given circumstance that each is responsible for. Note that when your Next becomes your Now, it is no longer your Next and you have some new Nexts. To illustrate, right now, my Now is enjoying writing this and my Next is planning and anticipating sharing it with a friend tomorrow at 3.00pm. When I am sharing it tomorrow with my friend, then that will be my new Now (that is currently one of my Nexts). And at 3.00pm tomorrow, I will be planning for and anticipating some other new Nexts.

  5. As long as you’re alive, your Now and your Next will always be together. They’re married for life. Divorce is not an option. Your Now cannot say goodbye to your Next and your Next cannot say goodbye to your Now.

  6. Learning to notice whenever you have a Now/Next conflict, your most important and immediate task is to resolve that conflict before continuing with anything else. Integrity first!

  7. In general, you have been taught that, whenever a conflict occurs between these two parts of yourself, to believe that your Next is more important than your Now. You think of your Next as the good guy and your Now as the sometimes bad guy. If your Now wants something that conflicts with what your Next wants, then he or she is the bad guy and must be ignored or subdued. Taking care of your future, persisting, not procrastinating, setting goals, making plans, and having patience are the main virtues, often practiced at the expense of your Now. And, at any time, if your Now takes control at the expense of what your Next wants, your Next will blame your Now and you will feel guilty. With these culturally approved and encouraged values and ways of dealing with any conflict that occurs between your Now and your Next, life is hard and you suffer. You are not your own best friend and fan of yourself.

 

 

Undoing Now/Next problems

Given these basic facts and principles, validated by the new science of creating happiness, the end of suffering lies in learning various ways to answer the following new questions (especially whenever you notice a Now/Next conflict).

 

  1. “In this circumstance, how can my Now and my Next both be happy?”

  2. “Is my Now happy right now? Am I showing respect and consideration for what my Now wants and needs? Is my Next happy right now? Am I showing respect and consideration for what my Next wants and needs?”

  3. Or more specifically in some circumstances, you can ask, “How can my Now enjoy the process of what my Next wants me to do in order for my Next to get what he or she wants in my future?”

  4. Also, weekly or periodically, ask yourself, “How can I change my lifestyle to support easy alignment between my Now and my Next?” Only by putting lifestyle and enjoying the process first, with results second, can you create an easy and almost seamless alignment between your Now and your Next.

 

Several methods are available to resolve any Now/Next conflict that may arise. These recipes are laid out in the NNI Toolkit on my website AskDwightHow.org.

 

Here are just a few of the titles for the various tools for creating Now/Next integrity:

 

  1. Just ask the questions (asking certain key questions can often provide quick answers so that Now and Next can agree)

  2. The 15-15 way (this shows respect to both sides)

  3. Doing it with others (this often makes Now happy and Next can get what he or she wants also)

  4. Under promising (this is good for both Now and Next)

  5. Lower your standards (making it possible for Now to have fun and it’s still good enough for Next)

  6. Step by step (again, Now and Next both benefit)

  7. Keeping fit in nine minutes a week (so easy for Now, great results for Next)

  8. The doer and the planner (setting the day up so Now and Next both win)

  9. Is your life a buffet? (putting enjoying the process as a priority over results)

  10. Lifestyle first, results second (just what it says and, in the big picture, you’ll get more results too)

  11. Undoing fear (resisted fear makes Now/Next alignment more difficult)

  12. Undoing stress (obviously better for both Now and Next)

  13. Undoing expectations (you’ll be surprised how this increases Now/Next integrity)

  14. Being present, slowing down (Next can still be happy and Now really enjoys)

  15. Small celebrations (don’t wait for the big results to celebrate)

  16. Creating persistence (the easiest and most reliable way to be persistent)

 

Ways to understand and undo Oneself/Others problems

Let’s now look at the basic truths, questions, and procedures to resolve all Oneself/Others problems.

 

  1. Your Oneself is that part of you whose job is to take care of yourself and to provide for your own needs and wants.

  2. Your Others is that part of you whose interest is to take care of others, to please others, to look good to others, to avoid being blamed by others, and to have good relationships with others.

  3. Although you care for others and others care for you, the reason that the universe/God put you into your body and mind is that your #1 job is to take care of yourself. And ultimately, you are the final judge of what is in your own best interest or not, not anyone else. This is similarly true for others.

  4. Learning to notice whenever you have a Oneself/Others conflict, the most important and immediate task is to resolve that conflict before continuing with anything else. Integrity first! Sometimes these conflicts are exacerbated by Now/Next issues that are not yet resolved. Oneself/Others conflicts are much easier to deal with once any relevant Now/Next issues are addressed first.

  5. In general, you have been taught, whenever a conflict occurs between your Oneself and your Others, that you should think of your Others as more important than your Oneself. You believe that your Others is the good guy and your Oneself is the sometimes bad guy. And, if your Oneself wants something that conflicts with what your Others wants, then he or she must be ignored or subdued. You must sacrifice the wants/needs of your Oneself for the wants/needs of your Others. Taking care of others, doing for others, being generous to others, putting others before yourself, looking good to others, and having good relationships with others are the main virtues, often practiced at the expense of your Oneself. If your Oneself takes control (and you act selfishly) at the expense of what your Others wants, then your Others will blame your Oneself and you will feel guilty. These values, beliefs, and attitudes create an ongoing and recurring battle between your Oneself and your Others. Because of these recurring conflicts, life occurs as difficult and unfair (you see yourself as a victim) and you suffer. Again, you are not your own best friend and fan of yourself. Two examples: You loan money to your friend (doing for Others) and you feel taken advantage of. Or, on the flip side, you don’t invite your difficult cousin to your wedding (doing for Oneself) and you feel guilty. One way or the other, no matter which way you choose, you’re always losing.

Undoing Oneself/Others problems

Given these basic facts, along with the new science of creating great relationships, the end of suffering lies in learning various ways to answer the following new questions (whenever you have a Oneself/Others conflict),

  1. “In this circumstance, how can I take care of myself and the other person at the same time? How can my self-interests (both short-term and long-term) and their self-interests work together? How can my selfishness and their selfishness dovetail?”

  2. “Is my Oneself happy right now? Am I showing respect and consideration for what my Oneself wants and needs? Is my Others happy right now? Am I showing respect and consideration for what my Others wants and needs? How can they both be happy?”

  3. Or more specifically in some circumstances, you can ask, “How can my Oneself enjoy the process of what my Others wants me to do for this other person?”

  4. Also, weekly or periodically, ask yourself, “How can I change my lifestyle and my boundaries with others to support easy alignment between my Oneself and my Others?”

 

Here are the few differences between creating Now/Next integrity, in distinction to creating Oneself/Others integrity.

 

  1. You can never separate your Now and your Next. They can never walk away from each other. In contrast, in your relationship with any other specific person, saying “no,” creating boundaries, and even walking away are always options. And, paradoxically, if you remove these options with any specific person in your life, you often disempower yourself in being able to create the best relationship with that person. Trying to remove all risk in relationships ends up creating even more risk (both for yourself and for them). An example: marriages in which either side is absolutely sure their partner will never leave most often take their spouse for granted and treat them badly (this often occurs for both at the same time). On the other hand, consider those marriages in which each partner knows that, if they don’t treat their spouse well, then he or she is likely to walk. These marriages often turn out to be the best. More sense of risk actually creates better results.

  2. With Now and Next your job is to take care of them both. But with your concerns for your Oneself and your Others, your #1 job is to take care of yourself, and, in your desire to take care of others (and look good to others), you make sure that you take care of yourself at the same time. Of course, it’s other people’s #1 job to take care of themselves. But that’s ultimately their responsibility, that’s ultimately their business.

  3. If a conflict occurs between taking care of yourself and taking care of another (considering both short-term and long-term benefits and possibilities, as well as costs and risks) that you cannot resolve for the mutual satisfaction of both you and the other person, choose courage to prioritize yourself by saying “no,” creating or maintaining a boundary, or by walking away. Self-sacrifice is not an option.

 

Various approaches are on the menu that can resolve any Oneself/Others conflict that may arise in different circumstances. These recipes are detailed in the MYI Toolkit on my website AskDwightHow.org.

 

Here are just a few of the titles for the various tools for creating Oneself/Others integrity:

 

  1. Undoing expectations (expectations are ways we lie to ourselves and set us up for upsets with others)

  2. Undoing fear (resisted fear makes good relationships more difficult)

  3. Undoing worry (same here)

  4. Undoing stress (same here)

  5. Partnership Conversation (this is the platinum standard for resolving any conflict that may arise with another person)

  6. Being 100% responsible (whenever you assume anything less than 100% responsibility for the quality of your relationship with another, you are relinquishing some of your power)

  7. Respect cf. Love (showing respect, as well as love, creates better relationships)

  8. Being your own best friend (if you’re not already your own best friend, it’s likely to toxify your relationship with others)

  9. Undoing guilt (self-blame creates difficulties in any relationship)

  10. Undoing being a victim (if you feel you’re the victim of another, then your response is likely to make them feel that they are a victim of you)

  11. Undoing shoulds and should nots (when you’re fighting with reality, everyone loses; this is also essential for Now/Next integrity)

  12. Setting up and maintaining good boundaries with others (good boundaries make great relationships)

  13. It's not about you (yes, your actions may influence how others respond to you, but who you are is great regardless of how others think about you)

  14. Listening (listening makes all the difference; distinguish listening from obeying)

  15. Listening for their listening of you (create a tight feedback loop to increase understanding and effectiveness)

 

 

Conclusion: you can remove all suffering from your life by understanding and following the basic principles and methods for creating both Now/Next and Oneself/Others integrity.

 

You now know how to disappear any problem. Learn, implement, and habitualize these new procedures step by step. You’ll discover a life of ease, accomplishment, connection, joy, and happiness (our natural state of being).

Check out Your Primo Habit; using this lead-horse habit, your life could be this easy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Life is hard. Not great. Kind of tragic.
     -T.J. Miller

I have read and studied many hundreds of books about life and how to lead a better life. To a fault, almost every accomplished thinker I have admired, even though they may disagree about many things, end up claiming that, "this will be hard." Whole philosophies and religions are based upon the idea that "life is hard." Every story, every moral, every drama requires that the characters go through something tough. It wouldn't even be interesting otherwise. Is it possible that life doesn't have to be this way?