只有 93% 的人

曾经活着的人都死了

0popdied.png

如何计算?

量化全人类需要一个确定的开始日期,即人类何时成为人类。进化是一个 循序渐进的过程,所以要弄清楚人类的开始日期并非易事。然而,出于本练习的目的,两位人口统计学家使用公元前 190,000 年作为分界点。

人口学家估计,在 192,000 年的时间里,有 1090 亿人生活和死亡。如果我们加上今天活着的人数,我们得到了 1170 亿曾经生活过的人。

“这意味着,对于今天还活着的每个人,大约有 14 个人不再与我们在一起。 我们要感谢这 1090 亿人,因为我们生活的文明。我们说的语言,我们烹饪的食物,我们喜欢的音乐,我们使用的工具——我们从他们身上学到的东西。”

–Max Roser,我们的数据世界

 

今天有多少人类还活着?

考虑到 7% 的曾经生活过的人类今天还活着,尤其是在跨越一千多个世纪的情况下,如此大比例的人类目前还活着,这是非常了不起的。

致谢:来自VisualCapitalist.com

_020220327N.jpg

Only 93% of all people

who ever lived are dead

0popdied.png

How to calculate?

Quantifying all of humanity requires a firm starting date for when humans became, well, human. Evolution is a gradual process, so figuring out the start date for humankind is no easy task. For the purposes of this exercise, however, the two demographers used 190,000 BCE as the cutoff.

The demographers estimate that 109 billion people have lived and died over the course of 192,000 years. If we add the number of people alive today, we get 117 billion humans that have ever lived.

"This means that for every person alive today, there are approximately 14 people who are no longer with us. It is these 109 billion people we have to thank for the civilization that we live in. The languages we speak, the food we cook, the music we enjoy, the tools we use – what we know we learned from them."

–Max Roser, OUR WORLD IN DATA

 

How Much of Humanity is Currently Alive Today?

When considering that 7% of all humans who have ever lived are alive today, especially when measuring across more than a thousand centuries, it’s remarkable that such a large portion of humans are currently living.

Acknowledgment: from the VisualCapitalist.com

_020220327N.jpg