婚前性行為還可以嗎?-1963(18-19)  

我應該改變對婚前性行為的看法嗎?

我一生中第一次被所有這些男性宿舍夥伴(在北卡羅來納州羅利的NC州立大學)包圍著,他們似乎接受並喜歡婚前性生活很棒的想法。

我母親教我等到結婚後再做愛。她實際上給了我這條規則的理由:生下不想要的嬰兒和性病的風險太大,無法帶到婚姻之外。她根本不相信避孕套是預防兩者中任何一種的有效方法。 (請記住,直到1962年,才開始使用避孕藥丸避孕藥,直到1970年,在紐約州和1973年,在美國其他地區,墮胎才成為合法。)

也許我母親結婚前做處女的理由不是那麼有效嗎?

當我與其他一些人談論我母親給我的這些原因時,他們聲稱,經過謹慎處理,這些風險可以降到最低。這對我來說很有意義。

也許我正被另一種方式洗腦?

但是,我知道我周圍的每個人(所有這些男孩)是如何相信這種方式的(至少看起來是這樣)。我不會打電話給我的母親,看看她是否可以為我提供其他任何理由,以支持在我(以及是否)結婚之前保持處女的想法。我問自己:“我可以和誰交談,誰還能在婚前主張童貞?”答:大學向學生提供宗教諮詢的部長。

我與牧師的談話(將雙手綁在背後)

我得到了部長的聯繫方式並預約了。首先,我告訴部長(我不確定他的面額是什麼),我正在考慮改變這種“婚前無性”規則的主意。其次,我告訴部長,他不能使用任何聖經禁令或論點來支持婚前保留處女的想法。他必須使用邏輯理由或證據。

也許他感到受挫,因為他不能使用任何類型的“上帝說”理由。他提出的唯一論據是:“當男人和女人在一起做愛時,尤其是第一次在一起,兩者在情感上都是脆弱的。如果您不在婚姻安全範圍內這樣做,那麼對雙方造成持久心理傷害的可能性就很大。”

當然,我知道我不能保證我所愛的女人不一定會造成心理傷害。但這似乎不是一個已定的結論。是的,我知道我可能會被一個女人傷透了心,但是我無法想像我是否對她做愛會使我的情況變得更糟。部長的論點沒有影響。

婚前性生活也許還可以

在這一點上,我試探性地決定,我可以接受在不嫁給某個女孩的情況下對某個女孩做愛的想法。從我11歲或12歲開始,我就至少擁有過一千次自慰幻想。

但是我必須有標準

但是現在我遇到了一個新問題。 “我不能僅僅向任何我希望與之發生性關係的女人做愛(假設她願意)。我必須有標準。”直到幾年後我才解決這個問題。

我媽媽來了我的思維方式

大概在此之後的十年左右,我發現我的母親改變了對婚前性行為的主意。我什至記得她的一句話(在她與父親離婚之後):“我想和一個男人發生性關係,然後嫁給他,以確保一切都好。”

Is premarital sex okay?-1963 (18-19) 

Should I change my belief about having premarital sex?

For the first time in my life I was surrounded by all these male dorm mates (at N.C. State College in Raleigh, North Carolina) who seemed to accept and enjoy the idea that premarital sex was great.

My mother had taught me to wait until marriage before having sex. She actually gave me reasons for this rule: the risks of having unwanted babies and STDs were too great to take outside of marriage. She didn’t trust condoms at all as an effective method to prevent either. (Remember that the pill for women as a contraceptive was not introduced and used much until 1962 and abortion did not become legal until 1970, in New York State, and in 1973, in the rest of the country.)

Maybe my mother's reasons to be a virgin before marriage were not that valid?

When I talked to some of the other guys about these reasons my mother had given me, they claimed that, with some care, those risks could be minimized. This made sense to me.

Maybe I'm being brainwashed the other way?

Nevertheless, I was aware of how everyone around me (all these boys) believed this way (at least it seemed). I wasn’t about to call my mother to see if she could provide me with any additional reasons to support the idea of remaining a virgin until (and if) I got married. I asked myself, “Who could I talk with who would probably still argue for virginity before marriage?” Answer: the minister that the university made available to the students for religious counseling.

My conversation with the minister (while tying his hands behind his back)

I got the contact information for the minister and made an appointment. First off, I told the minister (I’m not sure what his denomination was) that I was considering changing my mind about this “no sex before marriage” rule. Secondly, I told the minister that he could not use any biblical injunctions or arguments to support the idea of remaining a virgin before marriage. He had to use logical reasons or evidence. 

Perhaps he felt hamstrung because he couldn’t use any type “God says” reasons. The only argument he came up with was this, “When a man and a woman have sex together, especially for the first time, both are emotionally vulnerable. The potential for lasting psychological damage is great for both sides if you aren’t doing that within the safety of marriage.” 

Of course, I knew that I could not guarantee that a woman I made love with would not necessarily incur psychological damage. But it didn’t seem like a foregone conclusion. Yes, I knew I could have my heart broken by a woman, but I couldn’t imagine how whether I made love to her would make that significantly worse for me. The minister’s argument had no impact.

Maybe sex before marriage is okay

At this point, I tentatively decided that I could be open to the idea of making love to some girl without being married to her. Since I was eleven or twelve years old, I had masturbatory fantasies at least a thousand times about doing that.

But I've got to have standards

But now I had a new problem. “I can’t just make love to any woman that I have the desire to have sex with (assuming she is willing). I’ve got to have standards.” I didn’t solve this problem until years later.

 

My mother came around to my way of thinking

Perhaps a decade or so after this, I found out my mother had changed her mind about premarital sex. I even remember her saying (after she had divorced my father), “I’d want to have sex with a man before I married him to make sure it was good.”