0unilateralist.jpg

成為單邊主義者

成為單邊主義者意味著什麼?

這意味著您自己做出選擇和決定,而不認為與他人進行磋商(或徵得他們的同意)是必要的甚至是無益的,即使那些其他人可能認為您應該與他們進行磋商或徵得他們的同意也可以。

有時候,如果我們不扮演一個普遍主義者,那會更好

如果我們不這樣做會更好,通常我們會扮演普遍主義者的角色。稍後,我將回顧其中的一些情況。

但是,有一組特殊的選擇和決定,這些決定和決定只屬於我們的業務,而僅屬於我們的業務。相信(或什至採取行動)我們需要或應該與他人協商是否做出這些決定,就是在某種程度上喪失了我們照顧自己的權利和做出有助於我們幸福的決定的權利(是您生活中排名第一的工作)。

沒有人可以為您考慮(您做最後評估)

您對此負全部責任。即使您決定接受或支持另一個會影響您的決定(例如您的醫生,律師,政府的決定,或受某些軼事或故事的影響),也無法逃避事實(即使您可能希望)您是最終的決定者。除非您決定有理由相信他人比您更了解自己對自己最有利的評估,否則您不會接受他人對自己的評估。並且您接受這樣一個事實,即您進行的任何評估,您自己或他人的評估都可能是錯誤的。做出任何決定,無論它是什麼,與其他決定是否一致,總是存在風險和成本。您會完全接受並接受這一事實,這是過上美好生活的必要組成部分。

甚至包括上面的評估和我建議您提出的立場!

每個人一生的目的是要幸福(這是無法選擇或選擇的,這只是事實)

關於此的唯一“選擇”是識別與否,並調整您的動作,以便您更有可能在生活中獲得最大的幸福。這是支持該事實的證據

您的#1工作是照顧好自己

是的,別人在乎你。是的,其他人對於最適合您的東西有自己的想法。是的,其他人也在儘自己所能來照顧自己(儘管他們可能會說他們只是在努力為自己做最好的事情)。通常,最好的照顧自己的方法是找到使自己(長期和短期)的自身利益與他人的自身利益保持一致的方法。

包括以上所有內容,照顧好自己是您的第一要務,沒有其他人可以把這項責任從您身上奪走。

您是成年人,而且100%負責

如果您責備別人或責備自己,那麼您將限制自己的能力,不僅要照顧好自己,而且要照顧別人。

最終,您是否會被授權和/或高興?

需要弄清的最根本最重要的單方面可採取行動的事實是,別人,世界甚至您自己(您自己的思想,信念和解釋)如何為您而發生。它們對您的影響方式將直接從根本上影響您是否有能力,幸福或無權和痛苦。要成為一個熟練掌握這種情況的單邊主義者,就需要一個不斷嬉戲的好奇心和意圖。

我自己的一個例子。不多於兩年前(現在是2021年3月),每當我的眼睛隨便落在我雜亂無章的健身室角落時,我都會感到不安,這是由這樣的想法所激發的:“我什麼時候去清理那個角落起來?看來我找不到時間了。”

今天,每當我的眼睛落在一個混亂的角落時,我都會感到感激和滿足,這種想法激發了我:“我很幸運能夠擁有一生中可以做的有趣的事情,無論我是否得到到任何特定的人。”

我能夠通過積極主動地對當前混亂的局面創造出一種更加充實和快樂的信念,從而對同一情況建立這種相對較新的自動解釋。而且,更強大的是,我通過安裝更籠統的信念和解釋,改變了所有類似情況的發生,我的生活充滿了我可以選擇的“事情要做”的無限可能性。

(通常)不必對此有所粗暴

我什至可以辯稱,如果您在維護與其他人之間的界限時粗心大意,或者在為滿足上述基本要求而做出需要做出的選擇時,那麼您仍然沒有完全接受這些基本選擇。

例子。我的朋友羅傑(Roger)要求向我借錢。首先,讓我們想像一下,我得到了有關他的請求的更多詳細信息,以確保我為自己做出了最佳選擇。然後,在這樣做之後,我決定如果我借給他錢,我可能將不會最好地照顧自己,甚至可能不會照顧我與羅傑的關係。然後我會這樣回應。

“羅傑,我的一部分希望通過向您借錢來幫助您。但是我不知道如何做到這一點,而且仍然要照顧好自己。我希望您能夠理解這一點,好嗎? ?”

本質上,我對羅傑說“不”。但是,我這樣做是通過比他直率的“不”或避免給他一個明確或及時的答復來更加親切和尊重的方式。

最好不要表現出單方面行為的情況的例子

1)與其嘗試單方面地決定與當前關係的問題有關的最佳行動方案,不如對您倆來說,與該人發起夥伴關係對話以發現並決定更好的方法可能要好得多。

2)如果您透露了您想在談判中解決的更基本的價值觀和問題,並邀請另一方透露他們的更多內容,那麼它可以為您服務,而不是單方面決定您在談判中的立場。基本價值觀和問題。通過這種加深的相互理解,並以夥伴關係和創造力的態度,您可能會達成談判達成的和解協議,為您和雙方提供更好的服務。

3)如果您以與某人交談的態度與他人交談,而不是單方面地將後果強加給他人(甚至是孩子),則可以更好地服務於您和關係(以及無論您可能施加的任何後果的有益影響)尊重,請他們考慮在您認為可能合適的情況下,對於您的行為最好的選擇。

如果您要尋找它們,您將開始發現許多類型的情況,這些情況是您默認的思維方式和單方面採取的行為可能不會像更為尊重和合作的方法那樣為您服務。

如果您像大多數人一樣,在這些情況下首次開始選擇非單邊方法時,您將需要選擇更大的勇氣。請參閱CCC工具包

*020210312.jpg

0unilateralist.jpg

Becoming a Unilateralist

What does it mean to be a unilateralist?

It means to make choices and decisions for yourself without considering it to be necessary or even helpful to consult with others (or to get agreement from them), even though those others may believe that you should consult with them or get their agreement for such decisions.

Sometimes it would be better if we were not acting as a universalist

Often we act as universalists when it would better if we didn't. I will review some of those circumstances later. 

But, there is a special set of choices and decisions where they are our business and our business only. To believe (or even act as if) we need to or should consult with others about whether to make these decisions is to forfeit, in some measure, our right to take care of ourselves and our right to make decisions which serve our happiness (which is your #1 job in life).

No one can think for you (you make the final assessment)

And you take full responsibility for that. Even if you decide that you will accept or support another's decision that affects you (like your doctor's, your lawyer's, the government's, or to be influenced by some anecdote or story), there is no way you can escape the fact (even though you may want to) that you are the ultimate decider. You will not accept another's assessment over you own unless you decide there is reason to believe that they know better than you do in what is best for you (and you're willing to take that risk). And you accept the fact that whatever assessment you go with, your own or another's, could turn out to be in error. There is always risk and cost in going with any decision, whatever it is and whether it aligns with others or not. And you fully embrace and accept that fact as necessary part of living a great life.

And even that includes the above assessment and stand that I am suggesting you make! 

The purpose of everyone's life is to be happy (which cannot be chosen or unchosen, it just a fact)

The only "choice" you have about this is to recognize it or not and to align your actions so that you're more likely to maximize happiness in your life. Here's the evidence to support that fact.

Your #1 job is to take care of yourself

Yes, others care for you. Yes, others have their ideas about what is best for you. Yes, others are also trying to take care of themselves the best they know how (although they may say they're just trying to do what's best for you). And very often, the best way to take care of yourself is to find ways to aligned your own self-interests (both long-term and short-term) with the self-interests of others.

Including all of the above, it's your #1 job to take care of yourself and no one else can take that responsibility away from you.

You are a adult and 100% responsible 

If you blame others or blame yourself, you are limiting your power, not only to take care of yourself, but also in your ability to care for others.

Whether or not you are empowered and/or happy is ultimately in your court

The most fundamentally important unilateral actionable fact to get clear about is that how others, the world, and even yourself (your own thoughts, beliefs, and interpretations) occur for you. How they occur for you will directly and fundamentally affect whether you are empowered and happy or disempowered and suffering. Becoming a masterful unilateralist about this possibility requires a playful and ongoing curiosity and intention.

An example with myself. Not more than two years ago (now is March, 2021), whenever my eyes would casually land on a disorganized corner of my exercise room, I felt a disquietude, stimulated by the thoughts, "When am I ever going to get that corner cleaned up? It doesn't seem that I can ever find the time."

Today, whenever my eyes land on the same disorganized corner, I feel gratitude and satisfaction, stimulated by the thought, "I am so blessed to have such a smorgasbord of interesting things I could do in life, regardless of whether or not I ever get to any particular one."

I was able to establish this relatively new automatic interpretation of the same circumstance by proactivity creating a more empowering and happy belief about this current disorganized corner. And also, much more powerfully, I transformed the occurrence of all similar circumstances by installing the more generalized believe and interpretation that my life is filled with unlimited possibilities of "things to do" that I get to choose from.

There is (usually) no need to be rough about it

I could even argue that if you're being rough about maintaining the boundaries with others or in making choices that you need to make in service to the above fundamentals, then you still have not fully accepted those fundamental choices.

Example. My friend Roger has asked to borrow some money from me. First, let's imagine I get a few more details about his request to ensure I am making the best choice for myself.  And then, after doing this, I decide that I would probably not be taking best care of myself and may not even be taking care of my relationship with Roger if I lent him the money. Then I would respond this way.

"Roger, a part of me would like to help you by lending you the money you asked for. But I'm not seeing how I could do that and still take care of myself. I hope you might be able to understand this, okay?"

Essentially, I am saying "no" to Roger. But I am doing it in a kinder and more respectful way than by giving him a blunt "no" or by avoiding giving him a clear or timely answer.

Examples of circumstances in which it could be much better not to act like a unilateralist

1) Instead of trying to decide unilaterally the best course of action regarding an issue with a current relationship, it could be much better for both of you for you to initiate a Partnership Conversation with that person to discover and decide upon a better approach.

2) Instead of unilaterally deciding what your position will be in a negotiation, it could serve you both if you revealed the more fundamental values and issues you're wanting to address in the negotiation, as well as inviting the other party to reveal their more fundamental values and issues. From this deeper mutual understanding, and with an attitude of partnership and creativity, it's likely you'll arrive at a negotiated settlement which serves you both better.

3) Instead of unilaterally imposing a consequence on someone else (even a child), it could serve both you and the relationship better (and also the beneficial effect of whatever consequence you may impose anyway), if you talk with that person with an attitude of respect, inviting them to consider what might be best for you to do regarding their behavior where you think a consequence might be appropriate.

If you look for them, you will start to discover many types of circumstances where your default way of thinking and acting unilaterally will likely not serve you as well as a more respectful and partnership approach would.

If you're like most, when you first begin to choose a non-unilateral approach in these situations, you will need to choose more courage. See the CCC toolkit.

*020210312.jpg