再見,美國-你好,日本-1949 (55)

改變世界的決定:搬到日本

 

第一次來日本

1999 年 5 月,我訪問了東京兩個星期。這是我第三次在日本度假。我在札幌第一次體驗日本是在 1995 年夏天,當時我和我的妻子 Yuko 和她的兒子 Lucas 一起去拜訪 Yuko 的母親 Tsuta。日本也是我在亞洲訪問的第一個國家。

深入日本和日本人的靈魂

1996年我和優子分開了。

 

花了幾個月的時間來計劃我的假期,聯繫了日本大約 40 個寄宿家庭,1997 年夏天,我在日本度過了 40 個假期,與從橫濱到長崎的 18 個不同城市的 18 個寄宿家庭住在一起。我從京都開始並結束了這次逗留。一次迷人的經歷和冒險。

回到鳳凰城後,我向大約 20 位朋友分享了我對日本文化的沉浸感,其中包括當時住在鳳凰城的幾位日本人。在我的演講後,其中一位日本朋友跟我說: “在這 40 天裡,即使在日本生活了五年,你對日本人的真實本性的了解也比其他美國人了解的多。”

我必須再回去

1997年夏天,我在廣島租了三個月的房子。在那三個月裡,我認識並愛上了一位 27 歲的廣島女孩瞳。我們試圖保持異地戀,她在美國拜訪了我兩次,第一次是在亞利桑那州斯科茨代爾,第二次是在加利福尼亞州赫莫薩海灘。我從亞利桑那州搬到洛杉磯附近的赫莫薩海灘的部分動機是因為我們正在談論她將在美國和我一起生活。但她不願意住在亞利桑那州,因為天氣炎熱,而且她是一名音樂家,她想成為音樂所在的地方。最後,我們的關係沒有解決。

在日本做地標論壇

到 1999 年初,我已經完成了三次 Landmark 論壇,第一次是在亞利桑那州,1984 年它被引入,作為對 est 培訓的“升級”。我認為與一群日本人在東京再次回顧論壇會是一次爆炸。在為期三天的論壇中,人們比以往任何時候都更深入、更公開地分享自己。

短短幾分鐘,我做出了一個永遠改變我人生的決定

那是 1999 年 5 月。房間裡有九十九個日本人……然後是我。論壇負責人用英語主持論壇,並由一位動畫的日本女性實時翻譯成日語,當他在房間裡踱步時,她會跟在他身後,甚至模仿他的手勢。

有好幾次我發現自己在沒有人笑的情況下笑得很大聲,因為論壇領導說的話還沒有被翻譯成日語,然後他就會跟著我笑。

我之前曾想過搬到日本,但一直沒有跟進這個想法。論壇的第二天,經過幾分鐘的思考,我站起來向大家宣布: “我要去日本了。”論壇負責人問我: “什麼時候?”我宣布: “到年底。”我的航班於 1999 年 11 月 5 日降落在我的新家東京。

我生命中最大的改變,當時或之後

在赫莫薩海灘過著正常的生活時,我花了六個月的時間才搬家。我傾向於過度包裝。我提前將 27 個盒子預先運送給了我在東京結交的三個不同的朋友,他們同意為我保留它們,直到我自己到達為止。每個箱子的最大重量為 70 磅,郵局允許我運送的最大重量。在我 11 月 5 日飛往日本的航班上,我檢查了七個箱子,每個箱子的最大重量限制為 70 磅。我為額外的行李支付了更多的費用,比我為機票本身支付的免費允許的兩件多五件。我不得不運送、出售、贈送或扔掉我擁有的所有東西,包括我 1972 年的經典款 Oldsmobile。  

儘管我喜歡我的車,但我很高興能把它賣掉。我想, “我再也不需要汽車了!太棒了!”我今天仍然有這種感覺。  

與美國客戶在日本開展業務

之前在考慮在日本生活時一直困擾我的一個問題是如何繼續擔任生活教練。雖然通過口譯成功輔導了幾個日本人,但我沒有足夠的信心獲得足夠的日本客戶。  

但是我意識到我在美國的客戶和潛在客戶可以購買電話卡並在日本給我打電話,我解決了這個問題,當時每分鐘只需 10 美分。與他們作為教練支付給我的費用相比,打電話給我的費用是他們的費用,而不是我的費用。

top of page

Goodbye, America-Hello, Japan-1999 (55)

World-changing decision: moving to Japan

 

Visiting Japan for the first time

In May of 1999, I visited Tokyo for two weeks. It was my third time on holiday in Japan. My first experience of Japan, in Sapporo, was in the summer of 1995 when I joined my wife Yuko and her son Lucas when they were visiting Yuko’s mother Tsuta. Japan was also my first country to visit in Asia.

Diving deep into the soul of Japan and the Japanese people

In 1996 I separated from Yuko.

 

Taking several months to plan my holiday, contacting about 40 homestay families in Japan, in the summer of 1997, I took a 40-day holiday in Japan, staying with 18 homestay families in 18 different cities, from Yokohama to Nagasaki. I started and ended this sojourn in Kyoto. A fascinating experience and adventure.

When I returned to Phoenix, I gave a photo-and-sharing presentation of my immersion into the Japanese culture to about 20 friends, including a few Japanese who lived in Phoenix at that time. One of these Japanese friends shared with me after my presentation, "In those 40 days you learned more about the true nature of the Japanese people than other Americans learn even after living in Japan for five years."

I must go back again

In the summer of 1997, I rented a house in Hiroshima for three months. During those three months, I met and fell in love with a 27-year-old Hiroshima girl named Hitomi. We tried to maintain a long-distance relationship and she visited me two times in the USA, the first time in Scottsdale, Arizona, the second in Hermosa Beach, California. I was partially motivated to move to Hermosa Beach, near Los Angeles, from Arizona because we were talking about her coming to live with me in the USA. But she was unwilling to live in Arizona both because of the heat and because she was a musician and she wanted to be where the music was. In the end, our relationship didn’t work out.

Doing the Landmark Forum in Japan

I had already done the Landmark Forum three times by the beginning of 1999, the first time being in Arizona when it was introduced in 1984, as an "upgrade" to the est training. I thought it would be a blast to review the Forum again in Tokyo with a bunch of Japanese. In the three-day Forum, people typically share themselves more deeply and openly than they've ever done before.

In just a few minutes, I made a decision that changed my life forever

It was May of 1999. There were ninety-nine Japanese in the room...and then me. The Forum leader led the Forum in English and it was interpreted into Japanese real-time by an animated Japanese woman who would follow behind him as he paced around the room, even mimicking his gesticulations.

Several times I found myself laughing out loud when no one else was laughing because what the Forum leader said had not yet been interpreted into Japanese, who would then end up laughing right after me.

I had thought about moving to Japan previously but never followed up on that idea. On the second day of the Forum, after only a few minutes of consideration, I stood up and declared to everyone, “I’m moving to Japan.” The Forum leader asked me, “By when?” I declared, “By the end of the year.” My flight landed in Tokyo, my new home, on November 5, 1999.

The biggest change in my life, then or since

While living my regular life in Hermosa Beach, it took me six months to make the move. I tend to overpack. I pre-shipped 27 boxes ahead of me to three different friends I had made in Tokyo who agreed to hold them for me until I arrived myself. Each box was maxed out at 70 pounds, the maximum the post office would let me ship. On my November 5th flight to Japan, I had seven pieces of luggage checked through, each at the maximum limit of 70 pounds. I paid more for the extra luggage, five more than the two allowed for free than I had paid for the flight ticket itself. I had to ship, sell, give away, or throw away everything I owned, including my 1972 Oldsmobile, a classic. 

Even though I liked my car, I was so happy to sell it. I thought, "I'll never need a car again! So great!" I still feel that way today. 

Doing business in Japan with customers in America

The one issue that had stymied me before when thinking about living in Japan was how to continue to work as a life coach. Even though with an interpreter I had successfully coached a few Japanese people, I did not have enough confidence in getting enough Japanese clients to maintain a viable coaching practice. 

But I solved this problem by realizing that my clients and potential clients in the USA could buy a calling card and call me in Japan, costing only about 10 cents a minute at that time. The cost of calling me, which would be their expense, would be quite small compared to what they paid me as a coach. 

I gave myself six weeks, with my USA clients using stand-in coaches during this time, to find myself a place to live in Tokyo and prepare everything to resume coaching my clients. It worked as planned. A side benefit became that I was more prestigious with my clients and potential clients. They could say to their friends, "I need to call my coach in Japan now."

Not a fluke

Since that day in November 1999, I’ve always lived in Asia, first a year in Tokyo, then nine years in Shanghai, and finally twelve years in Kunming, China (as of December, 2021).

In the 22 years since, in Japan and China, I have seen so many ex-pats come and go. I feel so at home here...actually I think it's easy for me to feel at home in any city in the world that I might choose to live in. I never have culture shock. I can always make friends quickly wherever I go, much faster than I can in the USA. It doesn't matter that I don't know the language. It just makes it more adventurous getting around. 

Thinking about that Forum in Tokyo in 1999

I wish I could remember the name of that Forum leader in Tokyo in 1999. I do remember the name of another Forum leader who worked out of that center. His name was Jerome Downes. Later, when I lived in Shanghai, I reviewed the Forum again in Hong Kong. Jerome Downs led that Forum. Several years later, I learned Jerome had died.

_020211207N.jpg
bottom of page