你說話的時候在聽嗎?

“我知道你認為你明白我說的話,但你聽到的並不是我的意思。” -未知

聽力
聽他們的
你的

我們最毒的假設

“收到。”警察和軍隊使用這個詞來表示“收到的信息”。它仍然無法確認收到的消息與發送的消息是否相同,但總比沒有好。  

我們經常承認“溝通”的重要性,但就其本身而言,這並不是很有可操作性。更可操作的上下文是 NLP 預設,它說:“你交流的意義是你得到的回應。你想說什麼並不重要,意義來自聽者如何聽到並回應它。這也意味著你的意圖,無論好壞,都是無關緊要的。”

在我們人類一直沉迷於其中的所有假設中,最有害的是另一個人正在聽到/理解我們在說什麼(而且我們正在聽到/理解他們在說什麼)。

邊聽邊說

當您的工作是傾聽時,確保您與正在傾聽的人在同一頁面上會更容易一些(假設是一對一的)。相比之下,當您是主要發言人時,很容易陷入自己的演講中,而錯過有關您的聆聽方式的重要線索。當你面對面時,如果你注意他們的肢體語言,尤其是他們臉上的表情,你就會知道他們是否專心,是否有問題,或者你已經失去了他們在某些時候,無論你走得太慢還是太快。如果你在打電話,那就更有挑戰性了。在你的陳述中加上“好嗎?” “對?” “你明白嗎?”並等待口頭反饋,對語音語氣和使用的詞語給予同樣多的關注。通常,我會停下來問自己,“請給我一些反饋,說明你是如何聽到我說的?”

我們中的許多人都擔心被打斷或無法完成我們的想法或故事。大多數情況下,我鼓勵打斷……否則我無法確定我們是否在進行同一頁對話。

 

保持反饋迴路簡短

如果您是一名汽車司機,您知道如果您將視線從道路上移開超過幾秒鐘,您很可能會掉進溝裡,甚至殺死自己或其他人。在您對汽車的控制和您的眼睛之間保持一個簡短的反饋循環很重要,以確認您正在做的是按照您想要的方式移動汽車。  

同樣的原則也適用於會話,無論是聽力還是口語。不要“移開視線”,您可以在對話夥伴中註意到(或向其徵求),以便在對話中進行適當的調整,從而使結果更有可能是雙贏的。

"ASK DWIGHT HOW" 365/24/7

 

 

USA voice: 206-923-9554

USA text: 206-457-2817

COPYRIGHT 2018-2020 BY DWIGHT GOLDWINDE

Are you listening when you're speaking?

"I know you think you understood what I said, but what you heard was not what I meant." -unknown

LISTENING

TO THEIR LISTENING

OF YOU

Our most toxic assumption

"Copy that." Police and military use this term to indicate "message received." It still doesn't confirm that the message received is the same one as the message sent, but it's better than nothing. 

We often acknowledge the importance of "communication," but by itself, that's not very actionable. A more actionable context is an NLP presupposition which says, "The meaning of your communication is the response you get. It doesn't matter what you meant to say, the meaning comes from how the listener hears and responds to it. Which also means that your intentions, good or not, are beside the point."

Of all the assumptions in which we humans consistently indulge, the most toxic one is that the other person is hearing/understanding what we are saying (and also that we are hearing/understanding what they are saying).

Listening while your speaking

When it's your job to listen, it's a bit easier to ensure that you're on the same page with the person you're listening to (assuming one-to-one). In contrast, when you're the primary speaker, it's easy to get caught up in your own speaking and to miss important cues about how you're being listened to. When you're face-to-face, if you pay attention to their body language, especially as expressed in their face, you'll get clues as to whether they're attentive, whether they have a question or you've lost them on some point, whether you're going too slow or too fast. If you're on the phone, it's more challenging. Pepper your statements with, "okay?" "right?" "do you understand?" And wait for verbal feedback, paying just as much attention to voice tone as to the words used. Often, I will stop myself and ask, "Please give me some feedback on how you've been hearing what I've been saying?"

Many of us are concerned or defensive about getting interrupted or not being able to finish our thought or story. Most often, I encourage interruptions...otherwise I cannot be certain that we're engaged in an on-the-same-page dialogue.

 

Keep the feedback loop short

If you're a driver of a car, you know that if you take your eyes off the road for more than a few seconds, you're liable to end up in the ditch or even killing yourself or someone else. It's important to keep a short feedback loop between your control of the car and your eyes confirming that what you're doing is moving the car in the way that you'd like. 

The same principle implies with conversation, both in listening and speaking. Don't "take your eyes off" the immediate signals that you can notice in (or solicit from) your conversation partner in order to make appropriate adjustments in your dialogue so that the results are much more likely to be win-win.