告訴陌生人“我餓了”-2009 (65)

在洛杉磯與拜倫·凱蒂 (Byron Katie) 一起參加為期 9 天的住院醫師課程

我讀了幾本拜倫·凱蒂的書。我決定參加她為期 9 天的洛杉磯駐留計劃,其中包括美味的素食自助餐。我從中國上海飛來的。  

禁食兩天后,前往聖莫尼卡進行四小時的實地考察

總而言之,這是一個很棒的節目。我將只分享一次驚人的冒險/經歷。也許在課程開始五天后,當參與者(總共約 200 人)出現在吃早餐時,卻沒有早餐。我們在沒有事先警告的情況下被告知我們正在禁食。當然,我們可以選擇購買其他食物來吃,但如果可以的話,我們被鼓勵“遵循計劃”。這對我來說沒有問題。  

我們不知道齋戒什麼時候結束。禁食的第三天早上,在酒店宴會廳集合後,我們被告知要進行實地考察,乘坐公共汽車在聖莫尼卡的海濱海灘附近下車四個小時。然後我們將被送回洛杉磯的酒店宴會廳。  

你不能說話,只能說……

我們被告知,從巴士旅行開始到我們返回,我們不能說話,只有兩個例外。一旦我們在聖莫尼卡下車,我們就可以說兩件事:“我可以加入你嗎?”和“我餓了。”不允許使用其他詞。拜倫·凱蒂 (Byron Katie) 與一名工作人員進行了一些模擬,以演示如何做到這一點。  

我們身無分文

我們還被指示將所有金錢、身份證明和貴重物品留在我們的房間裡。我們被告知不能去施食廚房或從餐廳請客。如果我們被警察帶走,那是我們的責任。

開始四個小時...

大約上午 10 點 30 分,我們在海灘邊的公園下車,我們 200 人向東散開到聖莫尼卡的人行道上進行互動,或者不是按照我們的選擇,即將成為-驚訝的行人或坐在長凳上的聖莫尼卡居民。

一些班員以二人或三人為一組。我想一個人去。第一個小時,我只是四處遊蕩,注意到其他人經過或坐在長凳上。我還注意到我在延遲或避免與任何人接觸我被允許說的兩件事中的一件事或兩件事。  

感到緊張,我開始說,“我可以加入你嗎?”

我開始說,“我可以加入你嗎?”這很容易,幾個人說,“是的。”但是,因為我無法真正開始對話,所以我只能聽其他人在說什麼。

選擇更多的勇氣說“我餓了”

然後我跳了起來。我對一個吃漢堡包的人說:“我餓了”,儘管我真的沒那麼餓。至少對我來說,一旦我禁食兩天,大部分飢餓感就會消失。他抱歉地解釋了他的錢是多麼緊張,以及我如何下到施食廚房。他甚至給了我大致的方向。

巴士小姐餵我

大約十分鐘後,我在公交車站的長椅上坐下,在一位女士的右邊,大概 45 歲左右,正在等公交車。一兩分鐘後,我對她說:“我餓了。”她為自己身上只帶了公交車費而道歉,但她很快把手伸進身邊的一個紙袋裡,遞給我一個電源棒和他買的一個小三明治。無法說話,我向她鞠躬,並儘可能用肢體語言表達我的感激之情。

我對一個年輕人說“我餓了”

坐在長凳上吃完棒棒糖和三明治後,我繼續往前走,看到一個年輕人,大概22歲左右,正在和另外一個年輕人聊天。起初,我只是問,“我可以加入你嗎?”聽了幾分鐘後,我說:“我餓了。”

“在10美元以內選擇你喜歡的……我付錢……”

年輕人立刻領著我到了我們面前的一家熟食店門口。他說:“我是學生。我沒有多少。但只要價格低於 10 美元,你就可以買到任何你想要的東西。”當我們走向選擇窗口時,我感激地笑了。我指著一份湯和一份三明治的組合,總價保持在 10 美元以下。他用信用卡支付了這筆費用。在我們等待我的食物時,他與我分享了他是如何成為東海岸大學教會團體的一員,在該地區進行某種基督教研究或靜修。他陪我到我的座位上,我再一次無言地表達了感激之情。奇怪的是,我說“我餓了”之後,他沒有再說什麼。

他們三個問他們是否可以和我一起坐在我的桌子旁

年輕人走過去和他的兩個朋友,一個女人和另一個男人,都和他的年齡相仿,在餐廳的另一張桌子旁。幾分鐘後,當我繼續吃我的湯和三明治時,他們三個來到我的桌子旁,問他們是否可以加入我。我熱切地,非語言地歡迎他們。另一個男人和女人坐在我對面,女孩在我左邊。付錢給我吃的那個人就坐在我的左邊。

我聽得特別好,因為我不會說話

他們繼續聊天,不像他們在互相交談,而是直接“對”我,儘管我只能用非語言來回應。我懷疑,因為我無法說話,所以我希望他們能通過我的眼神和麵部表情感受到我有興趣聽他們說什麼。  

我“欺騙”了一點

他們告訴我他們在大學時的生活,以及他們來加利福尼亞參加的宗教靜修會。有一次,我違反了 Byron Katie 的指示,在一張紙上寫下了我正在訪問洛杉磯地區,我住在上海,並且我擁有一隻貓,從而“欺騙”了一點。但這就是全部。

“和我們一起吃冰淇淋吧!”

大約三十分鐘後,我吃完飯,他們說他們要去街對面買些冰淇淋。他們說他們會招待我並邀請我加入他們。雖然這時候我已經吃飽了,但記得我正在開齋,也剛吃完巴士小姐給我的好吃的,我欣然接受,因為我想找個藉口多聽他們說。

在冰淇淋店,我指了指我想要的冰淇淋圖片,我能看到的最便宜的一張,但它仍然要4美元。  

從身無分文到口袋裡的 11 美元

等我們準備好冰淇淋的時候,之前給我買過湯和三明治的小伙子把我拉到一邊,另外兩人正忙著自己的談話。他從口袋裡掏出 11 美元說,這就是我現在所有的現金。我要你沒事。我試圖用非語言來表達我是多麼的感動和感激,但這似乎是不夠的。  

他們為我祈禱

在我們都拿到冰淇淋後,我們坐在商店外人行道上的一張小圓桌旁,他們三個繼續與我分享他們的生活。到了他們不得不離開去參加會議的時候,女孩讓我們所有人低頭,她說了幾句祈禱的話,支持我被照顧好,沒事。

年輕女人給我 20 美元

當他們揮手告別並走開時,女孩忍住了,把20美元放在我手裡,祝我一切順利。我幾乎是淚流滿面。

我很尷尬,無法回饋或解釋

在訪問接近尾聲時,我非常想詢問他們的電子郵件地址,但我認為如果不求助於寫作,我無法做到這一點。當我讓他們知道我住在上海時,我已經對自己早先已經違反規則感到有點不安。我知道如果我有他們的電子郵件地址,我以後可以向他們保證我沒事,至少通過我的教練能力為他們提供一些價值作為回報。我注意到我很難用自己的表達來回報他們的慷慨。此外,我覺得我以後需要以某種方式向他們解釋為什麼我在聖莫尼卡和他們在一起時無法做到這一點。

沒有傳福音

另一件事讓我感到驚訝的是,儘管他們分享了一些關於他們的基督教信仰和活動的信息,但他們並沒有試圖讓我轉變為基督徒。也許他們只是假設我已經是基督徒了。我不知道。

我的驚喜與其他人不同

在我們所有人都被送回洛杉磯的酒店宴會廳後,拜倫凱蒂讓我們分享我們的經歷。正如她所預料的那樣,其他人的所有分享都是關於他們驚訝地發現每個人都是多麼“人性化”和友好,尤其是那些接近無家可歸和流落街頭的男人和女人的人。

對此我並不感到驚訝。我已經從我自己之前的經歷中知道,從我選擇勇氣接近陌生人並與他們交談的習慣。此外,我的態度可能受到我母親經常說的話的影響,“總的來說,人們是體面的。”

令我驚訝和感動的是身體上的慷慨,即給我食物和金錢。在短短的兩個小時內,從我第一次鼓起勇氣說“我餓了”,我已經從空腹和口袋裡沒有一分錢到吃得太飽,有 31 美元。

為什麼我對身體上的慷慨如此感動?

這可能讓我如此感動的一個原因是,在大多數情況下,我在身體上並不慷慨。例如,我不記得我曾經給過街頭乞丐錢,不管他們的現狀如何。我所做的就是對乞丐表示尊重和友善。有時我會停下來嘗試與乞丐交談,看看我是否有其他可能有價值的方式。大多數情況下,他們沒有興趣與我交談。他們一直堅持要我給他們錢。

我更慷慨地傾聽、指導、分享想法、尊重每個人

好幾次我在昆明街頭給乞丐我的名片,邀請他們參加我的免費人生輔導班。就在一次,一個乞丐出現了。當班員與我分享他們的問題時,他舉起手來請我幫忙尋找住處。我對他進行了一些指導,提出了幾種可供他探索的選項,他說他會。下課後,其他幾位學員也在幫他,給他建議。我不知道他有沒有跟進過,或者他發生了什麼事。

我確實認識到身體上的慷慨是一種重要的與他人互動的方式,特別是如果“給予者”確保他們在這個過程中照顧好自己。它只是通常不適合我。通過傾聽他人的意見、指導他人、與他人分享寶貴的想法,並始終尊重他人,我可以對他人最自私地慷慨大方。我對別人也很慷慨,因為他們在這個過程中從來不用擔心我,因為我總是照顧好自己。我很認同耶穌所說的話: “給一個人一條魚,你可以養活他一天。教一個人釣魚,你可以養活他一生。”  

 

哥哥說我變了

在拜倫·凱蒂 (Byron Katie) 的 9 天駐留計劃之後,我飛往田納西州的納什維爾,然後租了 80 英里的汽車去探望我的母親和兄弟,他們住在美麗的坎伯蘭高原。在我們一起拜訪了大約一個小時後,我的兄弟讓我感到驚訝,他告訴我他比以往任何時候都更親近我,更深入地傾聽他的聲音。我懷疑這種行為改變,我沒有自我反思,是從參與拜倫凱蒂的經歷中流出的。

Telling strangers, "I'm hungry"-2009 (65)

Attending a nine-day residency course with Byron Katie in Los Angeles

I’d read several of Byron Katie’s books. I decided to do her nine-day Los Angeles residency program, with gourmet vegetarian buffet meals included. I flew from Shanghai, China. 

Going on a four-hour field trip to Santa Monica after two days of fasting

All-in-all it was a great program. I’ll just share one amazing adventure/experience. Perhaps five days into the course, when the 200+ participants showed up for breakfast, there was no breakfast. We were informed, without prior warning, that we were fasting. Of course, we had the option to buy other food to eat, but we were encouraged to “follow the program,” if we could. It was no problem for me. 

 

We didn’t know when the fast would end. On the third morning of the fast, after assembling in the hotel ballroom, we were told we were going on a field trip, taken by buses and dropped off for four hours near an ocean-front beach in Santa Monica. Then we would be bused back to the hotel ballroom in Los Angeles. 

You cannot speak, except to say...

We were instructed that, from the beginning of the trip on the bus until we returned, we could not speak, with two exceptions. Once we were dropped off in Santa Monica, we were allowed to speak two things: “May I join you?” or “I’m hungry.” No other words were allowed. Byron Katie did some mocks with a staff member to demonstrate how it could be done. 

We were penniless

We were also instructed to leave all money, identification, and valuables in our room. We were told that we could not go to a soup kitchen or solicit food from a restaurant. If we got picked up by the police, that was our responsibility. A city law prohibited begging on the street. That may have been why she told us we could say, "I'm hungry," instead of "I'm hungry and would you help me with some money or food." Literally speaking the first statement was not asking for anything.

Starting four hours of...

It was about 10:30 am when we were dropped off at the beach-side park and the 200 of us fanned out toward the east onto the sidewalks of Santa Monica to interact, or not, with the soon-to-be-surprised pedestrians or bench-sitting denizens of Santa Monica.

Some of the class members stayed in groups of two or three. I wanted to go it alone. For the first hour, I just roamed and explored, noticing the others passing or sitting on benches. I also noticed I was delaying or avoiding approaching anyone with one or both of the two things I was allowed to say. 

Feeling nervous, I started with, "May I join you?"

I started with, “May I join you?” It was pretty easy and a few people said, “yes.” But, since I couldn’t really start a conversation, I could just try to listen to what others were talking about together.

Choosing more courage to say, "I'm hungry"

Then I took the leap. I said, “I’m hungry,” to one guy eating a hamburger, even though I really wasn’t that hungry. At least for me, once I’ve fasted for two days, most of the hunger goes away. Apologetically, he explained how he was tight for money and how I could go down to the soup kitchen. He even gave me general directions.

A bus lady feeds me

About ten minutes later, I sat down on a bus-stop bench, to the right of a woman, about 45 years old, waiting for the bus. After a minute or two, I said to her, “I’m hungry.” She apologized for not having more than bus fare on her, and she quickly reached into a paper bag she had beside her and pulled out a power bar and a small sandwich that she had bought, handing them over to me. Without being able to speak, I bowed to her and expressed my gratitude as much as I could in body language.

I say "I'm hungry" to a young man

After eating the power bar and sandwich while sitting on the bench, I walked further until I saw a young man, maybe about 22-years-old, talking with two others, a man and a woman of the same age. At first, I just asked, “May I join you?” After a few minutes of listening to them talk, I said, “I’m hungry.”

"Choose what you like under $10...I will pay..."

The first young man immediately led me to the door of a delicatessen we were standing in front of. He said, “I’m a student. I don’t have much. But you can buy whatever you want as long as it’s under $10.” I smiled with gratitude as we moved toward the selection window. I pointed at a soup and a sandwich combination, which kept the total under $10. He used his credit card to pay for it. While we were waiting for my food, he shared with me how he was part of a church group from an east coast university participating in a Christian retreat in the area. He accompanied me to my seat and, again, I expressed gratitude as much as I could without words. Curiously, he made no comment about why I didn’t say anything more after saying, “I’m hungry.”

The three of them asked if they could join me at my table

The young man went over to join his two friends, the woman and the other man, at another table in the restaurant. Within a few minutes, as I was continuing to eat my soup and sandwich, the three of them came over to my table and asked if they could join me. I eagerly, and non-verbally, welcomed them. The other man and woman sat across from me, with the girl to my left. The man who had paid for my food sat just to my left.

I listened especially well since I could not speak

They continued to chat, not as if they were talking among themselves, but directly “to” me, even though I could only respond non-verbally. I suspect that, because I was unable to speak, I was intent that they could feel my interest in listening to whatever they said by how I looked at them and by my facial expressions. 

I "cheated" a little

They told me about their lives back at the university as well as a bit about the religious retreat they had come to California for. At one point, I “cheated” a little by disobeying Byron Katie’s instructions by writing on a piece of paper that I was visiting the Los Angeles area, that I lived in Shanghai, and that I owned a cat. But that was all.

"Join us for ice cream!"

After thirty minutes and I had finished my eating, they said that they were going across the street to buy some ice cream. They wanted to treat me and invited me to join them. Even though I was completely full by this time (remember I was breaking a fast and had also already just eaten the food that the bus lady had given me), I eagerly accepted as I wanted an excuse to visit with them more. In the ice cream shop, I pointed to the ice cream that I wanted, the least expensive one I could see. It still cost $4. 

Going from penniless to $11 in my pocket

As we were waiting for our ice creams to be prepared, the young man who had previously bought my soup and sandwich, pulled me aside as the other two were busy in their own conversation. He took $11 out of his pocket and said that this is all the cash he had now. He wanted me to be okay. I tried to express how touched and grateful I was non-verbally, but it seemed so inadequate. 

They pray for me

After we all got our ice creams, we sat at a small round table on the sidewalk just outside the store and the three of them continued to share about their lives with me. When the time came that they had to leave to attend a meeting, the girl asked us all to bow our heads and she said a few words of prayer in support of me being taken care of and being okay.

Young woman gives me $20

As they waved goodbye and were walking away, the girl held back and put $20 into my hand, wishing me the best. I was almost in tears.

So awkward for me to be unable to give back or to explain

Near the end of the visit I had wanted so much to ask for their email addresses, but I didn’t think I could manage to do that without resorting to writing. I was already feeling a bit uneasy with myself for having bent the rules earlier when I let them know that I lived in Shanghai. I knew if I had their email addresses I could later reassure them that I was okay and at least offer some value to them in return through my coaching abilities. I was noticing how difficult it was for me to not be able to return their generosity with an expression of my own. Also, I felt that I needed to somehow explain to them later why I was not able to talk when I was with them in Santa Monica.

No evangelizing

Another thing I was surprised by was that, even though they shared a bit about their Christian beliefs and activities, they did not try to convert me to being a Christian. Perhaps they had just assumed I was already a Christian. I don’t know.

My surprise was different from the others

After all of us had been bused back to the hotel ballroom in Los Angeles, Byron Katie asked us to share our experiences. As she had predicted, all the sharing from others was about their surprise at discovering how “human” and friendly everyone was, especially for those who approached men and women who were homeless and living on the street.

I wasn’t surprised by that. I already know that from my own experiences before because of my habit of choosing courage to approach strangers and talk with them. Also, my attitude was probably influenced by something my mother would often say, “By in large, people are decent.”

What I was surprised by and touched deeply by was the physical generosity, that is, giving me food and money. In just two hours, from the first time I choose courage to say, “I’m hungry,” I had gone from an empty stomach and not a penny in my pocket to being overly stuffed and having $31.

Why was I so touched by physical generosity?

One reason this may have touched me so much is that, in most circumstances, I am not physically generous. For example, I don’t recall a single time that I have given money to a street beggar, no matter their presenting condition. What I have done is to show respect and friendliness to beggars. Sometimes I have stopped to try to talk with a beggar to see if there were some way I might otherwise be of value. Most often they showed no interest in talking with me. They kept insisting that I give them money.

I am more generous with listening, coaching, sharing ideas, showing respect to everyone

Several times I have given beggars on the street here in Kunming my card, which invites them to my free life-coaching class. And just once, a beggar showed up. When it was time for the class members to share their problems with me, he raised his hand and asked for my help in what he could do to find a place to live. I coached him a bit, presenting several options for him to explore, which he said he would. After the class finished, a few of the other participants were also offering him help and providing suggestions. I don’t know if he ever followed through or what happened to him.

I do recognize that physical generosity is one type of interaction with others that is important, especially if the “giver” ensures that they are taking care of themselves in the process. It just doesn’t normally fit for me. I can be most selfishly generous with others with my listening of others, my coaching of others, my sharing valuable ideas with others, and always showing respect to others. I relate well to what Jesus said, "Give a man a fish, and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish, and you feed him for a lifetime." 

 

My brother said that I changed

After the nine-day residency program with Byron Katie, I flew onto Nashville, Tennessee, and then drove 80 miles in a rented car to visit my mother and brother where they lived on the beautiful Cumberland Plateau. After visiting with my brother for an hour, he surprised me by telling me that he experienced me as more present and listening deeply to him than ever before. I suspect that this behavioral change, that I was not self-reflectively aware of, flowed out of participating in the Byron Katie experience.