六歲就死了

上週六(2021 年 9 月 18 日),我和我的朋友林恩一起在綠湖公園附近的一家素食自助餐廳享用午餐。當我在公園裡接近陌生人並與他們進行有趣的對話時,她是我當天的翻譯。

 

我會對他們說:“嗨,我叫德懷特。我在昆明度假。我們可以聊幾分鐘嗎?”大多數情況下,人們會說“是的”,並且在林恩的幫助下,我們會開始來回分享,通常會進行非常深入的對話。

在公園里呆了幾個小時後,林恩和我休息了一下,吃午飯。 我們談到了我們人類為了“正常”願意犧牲什麼,這是“好看”和“不好看”的一種形式。她分享說,她結婚生兩個孩子的主要原因是為了正常並做她期望的事情。回想起來,她對自己的選擇並不滿意。  

 

帶著悲傷,她還和我分享瞭如何,直到大約四個月前,她六歲的兒子經常不自覺地不自覺地跳起舞來。但他變得“害羞”,不再跳舞了。也許他認為這“不酷”。也許他認為其他人會認為他是在炫耀。也許他認為其他人會認為他跳舞“不夠好”。  

不管他做出什麼決定,我們都知道是因為他有些擔心,如果他像以前那樣自由自在地跳舞,他就不會“好看”。  

她的兒子快死了。

你還記得你開始死亡的早期生活決定嗎?我可以為自己。

看到你渴望看起來漂亮嗎?

特別提示:當我對陌生人說“我在昆明度假”時,這是真的。幾乎每個週末,我都會度過一個 25 小時的假期,週六早上去昆明的另一個地方,在那個地區的酒店或 Airbnb 住一晚,週日早上返回我的家。我發現如果我說“我在昆明度假”而不是“我住在昆明”,我會在談話開始時得到更積極的回應,這會延續到更大的對話中。後來我解釋說,雖然我在昆明度假,但我也住在昆明。

_020210925N.jpg

At six years old, he's dying

Last Saturday (September 18, 2021) my friend Lynn and I were enjoying lunch together at a buffet vegan restaurant near Green Lake Park. She was my interpreter for the day as I was approaching strangers in the park and creating interesting conversations with them.

 

I would say to them, "Hi, my name is Dwight. I'm on holiday here in Kunming. Could we talk together for a few minutes?" Most often, people would say "yes," and, with Lynn's help, we'd start sharing back and forth, usually getting into pretty deep dialogues.

After a few hours in the park, Lynn and I took a break for our lunch.  We talked about what we humans are willing to sacrifice in order to "be normal," which is one form of "looking good" and "not looking bad." She shared that the main reason that she got married and had two kids was to be normal and do what was expected of her. In retrospect, she was not happy with her choice. 

 

With sadness, she also shared with me how, until about four months ago, her six-year-old son often broke into dancing spontaneously and unselfconsciously. But he became "shy" and is not dancing anymore. Maybe he decided it was "not cool." Maybe he decided that others would think he was a showoff. Maybe he decided that others would think he is not dancing "good enough." 

Whatever he decided, we all know it was because of some concern he has that if he dances freely and spontaneously as he did before, he would not be "looking good." 

Her son is dying.

Can you remember an early life decision where you started dying? I can for myself.

See Are you dying to look good?

Special note: when I say to strangers, "I'm on holiday in Kunming," it's true. Almost every weekend, I take a 25-hour holiday where I go to a different part of Kunming on Saturday morning and spend a night in that area in a hotel or Airbnb, returning to my home Sunday morning. I find that if I say, "I'm on holiday in Kunming" rather than "I live in Kunming," I get a more engaged response at the beginning of our conversation, which carries over into the larger dialogue. Later, I explain that, even though I am on holiday in Kunming, I also live in Kunming.

_020210925N.jpg