如何認識當地的日本人-1955 (50-51)

這是什麼世界!?

1995 年 8 月,我第一次訪問了日本(也是我第一次到亞洲)。我的妻子優子和她 7 歲的兒子盧卡斯先於我去看了住在札幌的優子的母親蔦。

從我到達機場的那一刻起,我就對日本越來越著迷,尤其是日本人。

我怎麼會遇到外星人?

我安排了我的教練業務,這樣我就可以和優子和盧卡斯一起在她媽媽那里呆五個星期。

很快,我對“成為一名遊客”感到沮喪。我想和人說話,只是普通人。我想通過讓他們參與對話,更深入地了解日本人如何看待自己以及他們的生活和世界。我想通過問他們問題來做到這一點,甚至可能有點私人問題,比如“你喜歡自己什麼?”或者“你不喜歡自己的什麼地方?”

有志者事竟成(勇氣是有幫助的)

但是怎麼做呢?!最後我想到了一個想法來測試一下。我在一個類似公園的地區,人行道上有一些公園長椅。日本人坐在長椅上,放鬆和與他們的朋友或家人交談。札幌在冬天很冷……但八月天氣很好,可能有 70 度。

“哦,你會說英語!”

當我在公園的長椅上隨意走動時,我會嘗試與長椅上的人進行眼神交流。由於我是一個“白”皮膚的傑出外國人,這很容易做到。一旦我與某人有目光接觸,我會以輕鬆、友好的方式說:“早上好!”

如果他們用英語回复(可能大約有 20% 的時間發生這種情況),我會驚訝地驚呼:“哦,你會說英語!”

有時他們真的不會說英語;他們只知道怎麼說“你好”。但更多時候他們這樣做了。從那時起,通常很容易開始對話並根據我的需要保持對話。

“陌生土地上的陌生人”的陰影(羅伯特·海因萊因)

我開始了解日本人和他們生活的文化世界(如果你願意的話,幾乎是監獄),這是一個與我成長的西方文化截然不同的世界。生活在日本人腦海中的文化世界至今仍令我著迷(2021 年 5 月)

How to meet the local Japanese-1955 (50-51)

What world is this!?

In August of 1995 I visited Japan for the first time (and also my first time to Asia). My wife Yuko and her seven-year-old son Lucas had gone ahead of me to visit with Yuko’s mother Tsuta who lived in Sapporo.

From the moment I arrived in the airport I became increasingly fascinated by Japan, especially the people. 

How can I meet the aliens?

I’d arranged my coaching business so that I was able to stay with Yuko and Lucas at her mother’s place for five weeks. 

Quickly I became frustrated with “being a tourist.” I wanted to talk with people, just everyday people. I wanted to have a deeper understanding of how Japanese people think and feel about themselves and their life and world by engaging them in conversation. I wanted to do this by asking them questions, maybe even a bit personal like, “What do you like about yourself?” or “What do you dislike about yourself?”

Where there is a will there is a way (and courage is helpful)

But how to do that?! Finally I thought of an idea to test out. I was in a park-like area with with some park benches along a sidewalk. Japanese people were sitting on the benches, relaxing and talking with their friends or family. Sapporo is quite cold in the winter time...but in August it was very nice, maybe 70 degrees.

"Oh, you can speak English!"

As I walked casually by the park benches, I would try to make eye contact with the people on the benches. Since I was a stand-out foreigner with a “white” skin, it was pretty easy to do. Once I had eye contact with someone, I would say in a lighthearted, friendly way, “Good morning!”

If they responded back in English (maybe about 20% of the time this happened), I would exclaim with surprise, “Oh, you can speak English!”

Sometimes they really couldn’t speak English; they just knew how to say “Hello.” But more often they did. From that point, it was usually easy to start a conversation and keep it going as long as I wanted.

Shades of "A Stranger in a Strange Land" (Robert Heinlein)

I started to learn about the Japanese people and the cultural world they live inside of (almost a jail, if you will), a world so different from the Western culture that I grew up inside of. The cultural world that lives inside the heads of Japanese people continues to fascinate me to this day (May 2021)