聆聽

比說話更重要

“首先要了解,然後才被理解。”

-摘自史蒂芬·科維(Stephen Covey)的《高效能人士的七個習慣》

您怎麼知道自己是不是一個好聽眾?

即使您認為自己“聽得很好”,除非您正在聽的人覺得您聽得很好,否則它就沒有多大價值。調查您生活中的至少五個不同的人(家人,朋友,同事,老闆,報告,甚至是偶然的熟人)。嘗試讓他們感到盡可能安全,以坦率地回答以下問題:“從0到10的等級,您如何評價我對您的聆聽?排名為0表示我是您遇到過的最差的聆聽者。排名10表示我是最好的。”如果他們給您的排名低於8,請問他們一個後續問題:“請給我一些提示,告訴我我可能會做更多,更少或不同的事情,以便您對我的排名達到8或更高?”感謝他們在幫助您成為更好的傾聽者方面的指導。

耐心和好奇心

如果您不耐煩,您將很難很好地聆聽(只是等待說出您想說的話或離開對話)。不耐煩通常是由於不喜歡該過程引起的。使用NNI工具箱中的工具找到欣賞聆聽過程的方法。這些重要工具之一是引起人們對聆聽和理解他人試圖交流的好奇心。

反射性聆聽(並發出確認聲)

如果您不清楚如何進行反思,那麼Internet上有大量快速資源。反思性聆聽不僅可以幫助確保對方意識到您的專心和好奇心,還可以使你們兩個人保持在同一頁面上。此外,發出確認聲音(“好吧...知道了...告訴我更多...是...繼續前進...嗯...”)有助於指示收聽。在電話上交談時,發出這些聲音(雖然不是太多)比面對面講話更為重要。

進行設置,以便在聆聽時能夠照顧好自己

  1. 如果您的時間有限(或者只想在緊迫的時間裡聆聽),請在開始時與您的對話夥伴建立這種了解。例如,說:“我現在只有十分鐘的對話時間……對您有用嗎?”

  2. 如有必要,當與“繼續進行下去”的人交談時,請考慮選擇勇於“粗魯”並打斷他們,以便您為對話做出貢獻。他們甚至可能不會覺得這很粗魯。

  3. 如果您仍然無法享受對話的樂趣,請與其他人發起夥伴關係對話,以找到可以彼此享受交流的方式。首先,“以某種方式,我在與您進行對話時確實遇到了麻煩。請問您是否能幫助我們找到一種我們可以一起玩樂的方式?”

傾聽與服從

我們大多數人長大後將聽和聽(或同意)混為一談。主動聆聽的行為與服從或同意完全不同。如果您自己沒有清楚地區分出這種區別,那麼良好的聆听就會成為問題。毫無疑問,您會聽得很好(並且您正在聽的人會感覺到他們已經聽過),無論您是否服從他們甚至同意他們。

相關鏈接:

傾聽他們對你的傾聽

百分百負責

十五分鐘的愛

合作夥伴對話

不應該做

*020210222.jpg

"ASK DWIGHT HOW" 365/24/7

 

 

USA voice: 206-923-9554

USA text: 206-457-2817

COPYRIGHT 2018-2020 BY DWIGHT GOLDWINDE

More important than speaking

LISTENING

How do you know if you're a good listener?

Even if you think you "listen good," it won't be of much value unless the people you are listening to feel that you listen to them well. Survey at least five diverse people in your life (family, friends, colleagues, bosses, reports, even casual acquaintances). Try to make them feel as safe as possible to answer candidly the following question, "On a scale from 0-10, how would you rank my listening of you? A ranking of 0 means I'm the worst listener you ever met. A ranking of 10 means the I'm the best." If they rank you at less than an 8, ask them a followup question, "Please give me tips as to what I might do more, less, or differently so that your ranking of me would be a 8 or higher?" Thank them for their coaching in helping you to become a better listener.

Patience and Curiosity

You will have problems listening well if you are impatient (just waiting to say what you want to say or to leave the conversation). Impatience is typically caused by not enjoying the process. Use the tools at the NNI toolkit to find ways to enjoy the process of listening. One of those important tools is creating curiosity about hearing and understanding what the other person is trying to communicate.

 

Reflective listening (and making acknowledgement sounds)

If you're not clear about how to listen reflectively, plenty of quick resources are on the Internet. Reflective listening not only helps ensure that the other person is aware of your attentiveness and curiosity, but also keeps the two of you on the same page. Moreover, making acknowledgement sounds ("okay... got it... tell me more... yes... keep going... ahh...") is helpful to indicate listening. Making these sounds (not too many, though) is more important when talking on the telephone than when face to face. 

Set it up so that you're taking care of yourself while you're listening

  1. If you have limited time (or only feel good about listening within a tight time frame), create this understanding with your conversation partner at the beginning. For example, say, "I've only got ten minutes now for this conversation...does that work for you?"

  2. If necessary, when talking with someone who "goes on and on," consider choosing courage to be "rude" and interrupt them in order for you to contribute to the conversation. It probably won't even occur to them as rude. 

  3. If you're still having trouble enjoying the dialogue, initiate a Partnership Conversation with the other person to find ways that you can both enjoy the interchange. Start with, "Somehow I'm having trouble really engaging in this conversation with you. Could I ask for your help in figuring out a way that we can both have fun talking together?"

Listening vs. obeying

Most of us grow up conflating listening and obeying (or agreeing). The act of active listening is entirely distinct from either obeying or agreeing. If you haven't clearly made this distinction for yourself, listening well becomes problematic. Know without a doubt that you can listen well (and the person who you are listening to will feel that they were listened to), regardless of whether you obey them or even agree with them.

Related links:

Listening for their listening of you

Being 100% responsible

Fifteen minutes for love

Partnership conversation

Undoing shoulds