分析性思考的準則:傳奇的哈佛教授理查德·澤克豪澤 (Richard Zeckhauser) 的智慧

通過丹利維

2021 年 8 月讀完這本書後,我寫道,

 

“一旦我們停下來更深入地考慮事情,就可以很好地提醒指導方針。”  

查看我所有的書籍推薦  

以下是我所做的選擇:

格言 1 當您無法理清思路時,請考慮極端情況

 

在本書的所有格言中,這是理查德的合著者和以前的學生中最受歡迎的格言。從廣義上講,這條格言在兩種情況下特別有用: 更好地理解概念、問題或想法;或 評估您正在努力做出的決定的最佳情況或最壞情況後果。

 

更好地理解一個概念或想法 剛接觸經濟學的學生有時很難掌握邊際消費傾向(縮寫為 MPC)的概念。 MPC 是個人消費的額外可支配收入(稅後收入和轉移收入)的比例。更難理解的是 MPC 的特定數值意味著什麼。在這種情況下,去極端情況下對數字的含義有一些直觀的感覺是有幫助的。在這種情況下,由於 MPC 是一個比例,因此兩個極端是 0 和 1。 MPC 為 0 意味著如果一個人獲得了額外的 100 美元收入,她不會花掉它。想想沃倫巴菲特。他已經有足夠的錢來消費他想要的東西。如果伯克希爾哈撒韋公司多給他 100 美元,他就不會改變他的消費。在另一個極端,MPC 為 1 意味著如果一個人額外獲得 100 美元的可支配收入,他會花掉所有的錢。想想一個極端貧困的人。額外的 100 美元可以立即用於滿足他的基本需求。這些極端情況可以幫助我們加深對 MPC 的理解。 [2]

 

評估您正在努力做出的決定的最佳情況或最壞情況後果

 

傅曉晨是理查德在肯尼迪學院的前學生之一,現在是中國銀行的一名經理。當她在全球第三大銀行中國農業銀行工作時,她用這句格言幫助銀行向數字時代過渡。在客戶越來越多地使用智能手機進行銀行交易的時代,她的銀行在全國 25,000 家分支機構仍有超過 300,000 名員工。一些分行發現親自來的客戶越來越少。她和她的員工正在努力決定他們應該如何調整分支機構的數量和位置。 “然後我想起了 Zeckhauser 教授的格言。為了找出極端情況,我們對一家全功能銀行分行提供的所有服務進行了規定和程序,以確定哪些服務很難或不可能在線提供。 (例如,政府禁止第三方快遞公司運送實物黃金,所以想要購買實物黃金產品的客戶必須去分行。)在找到所有這些服務後,並考慮到不同分行服務的客戶的需求和偏好(例如,老年客戶和農村客戶仍然更喜歡面對面的金融服務),關閉哪些分支機構,保留哪些分支機構變得更加清晰。事實證明,該規劃項目具有成本效益,使銀行能夠適應數字時代並更好地滿足客戶的需求。我認為這句格言不僅給了我工具,還給了我應對如此復雜情況的勇氣。”小陳的描述指出了格言可能帶來的兩個關鍵好處。它可以幫助您專注於如何解決問題,並且可以讓您在確定最佳決策時有勇氣採取行動。本書中的許多其他格言也是如此。  

 

格言 2 當您無法理清思路時,請看一個簡單的案例

 

理查德講述了他的另外兩個主要導師 Thomas Schelling 和 Kenneth Arrow(兩位諾貝爾獎獲得者)如何尋求簡單。例如,謝林經常使用日常且容易掌握的例子,例如父母與孩子談判,作為對複雜得多的情況(例如國際談判)的類比。謝林的演講經常從一個簡單的例子,比如一個停車標誌,轉變為對涉及比喻性停車標誌的十幾個關鍵問題的即興演奏。 Arrow 天才的一個要素是看到並提煉出簡單的原則,而其他人只看到了模糊的複雜性。 [11]

 

格言 3 不要在復雜性中尋求庇護

 

我坐下來準備一個新的演示文稿。現在是我理清思路和教學的時候了。簡單原則是我的北極星和救贖。在下一次團隊練習中,我決定專注於我認為最重要的三個因素。 “這都是關於三個 H:手、臀部和頭。”手:你如何用手握住球棒,以及你握住你的手相對於你的軀幹的位置。臀部:如何將臀部朝向投手並在揮桿時旋轉它們。頭:你如何一直盯著球看,從看著投手手中的球到試圖看到它碰到你的球棒。

 

手、臀部和頭部。這成了我們的口頭禪。我將擊球的複雜性簡化為三個核心要素。它們易消化且粘稠。

 

那個賽季,我們的棒球隊贏得了馬薩諸塞州牛頓小聯盟的 11 歲男孩冠軍。

 

格言 4 在嘗試理解複雜的現實世界情況時,請考慮日常模擬

 

理查德經常以與修理他家的承包商的實際談判為例來說明復雜的現實世界談判,如伊朗核協議。正如哈佛肯尼迪學院的博士生、理查德的多年教學研究員愛麗絲·希思所說:“大的政策問題在結構上通常與我們每天面臨的‘小’問題相似。主要區別在於受影響的人數。但如果我們看到日常例子的類比,我們將能夠真正理解問題,然後將我們的直覺應用於更大的問題。”

 

例如,假設您正在考慮使用水桶將 100 件相同的物品一件一件地運送到尼亞加拉大瀑布上。有兩種類型的桶。第一種已經使用了100次,成功了70次。第二種已經用過2次,只成功過一次。你會怎麼辦?這是理查德給他的學生和同事的那種經典謎題。在閱讀下一段中的答案之前,請暫停一分鐘考慮一下。在沒有任何其他信息或限制的情況下,您應該多次使用第二個存儲桶,直到您對其整體成功率有了更好的了解。對於第一個,您可以合理地確定其成功率接近 70%,而對於第二個,您非常不確定,因為它只使用過兩次。因此,您應該多次使用第二個桶,直到您積累更多證據並得出成功率低於 70% 的結論(在這種情況下,您切換到第一個桶),或得出成功率高於 70% 的結論(在這種情況下,您應該繼續使用它)。

Maxims for Thinking Analytically: The wisdom of legendary Harvard Professor Richard Zeckhauser

by Dan Levy

After reading this book in August of 2021, I wrote,

 

"Some good reminders of guidelines that make sense once we stop to consider things more deeply." 

See all my book recommendations.  

Here are the selections I made:

Maxim 1 When you are having trouble getting your thinking straight, go to an extreme case

 

Of all the maxims in this book, this is the most popular among Richard’s coauthors and former students. Broadly speaking, this maxim can be especially helpful for two kinds of situations: To understand a concept, problem, or idea better; or To assess the best-case or worst-case consequences of a decision you are struggling to make.

 

To understand a concept or idea better Students new to economics sometimes struggle to grasp the concept of the marginal propensity to consume (abbreviated as MPC). MPC is the proportion of additional disposable income (income after taxes and transfers) that an individual consumes. Even harder to understand is what a specific numerical value for MPC implies. In such situations, it helps to go to extreme cases to gain some intuitive feel for what the numbers mean. In this case, since the MPC is a proportion, the two extremes are 0 and 1. An MPC of 0 means that if an individual received an extra $100 of income, she would spend none of it. Think of Warren Buffett. He already has plenty of money to consume what he wants. If Berkshire Hathaway were to pay him an extra $100, he would not change his consumption. At the other extreme, an MPC of 1 means that if an individual received an extra $100 of disposable income, he would spend it all. Think of someone in extreme poverty. An extra $100 could go immediately to satisfy his basic needs. These extreme cases can help ground our understanding of MPC.[2]

 

To assess the best-case or worst-case consequences of a decision you are struggling to make

 

Xiaochen Fu is one of Richard’s former students at the Kennedy School and now a manager at the Bank of China. When she worked at Agricultural Bank of China, the third largest bank worldwide, she used this maxim to help the bank make its transition to the digital era. At a time when clients were increasingly using smartphones to conduct banking transactions, her bank still had more than 300,000 staff working at 25,000 branches around the country. Some branches found that fewer and fewer clients came in person. She and her staff were struggling to decide how they should adjust the number and location of their branches. “Then I remembered Professor Zeckhauser’s maxim. To find the extreme case, we went through regulations and procedures for all the services provided by a full-function bank branch, in order to identify which services would be very difficult or impossible to deliver online. (For example, the government forbids third-party couriers to deliver physical gold, so clients who want to buy physical gold products must go to branches.) After finding all such services, and considering the needs and preferences of clients served at different branches (for example, senior clients and rural area clients still prefer face-to-face financial services), it became much clearer which branches should be closed, and which ones should be saved. The planning project proved to be cost-efficient, and allowed the bank to adapt to the digital age and better meet the needs of our clients. I reckon that the maxim gave me not only the tools but also the courage to deal with such complicated conditions.” Xiaochen’s account identifies two critical benefits a maxim may bring. It can help you focus on how to approach a problem, and it can give you the courage to take action when you determine the best decision. This is true for many other maxims in this book. 

 

Maxim 2 When you are having trouble getting your thinking straight, go to a simple case

 

Richard tells about how two of his other major mentors, Thomas Schelling and Kenneth Arrow (both Nobel Prize winners), sought simplicity. Schelling, for example, regularly employed everyday and easily grasped examples, such as a parent negotiating with a child, as an analogy to a much more complex situation, such as an international negotiation. A Schelling lecture often moved from a simple example, say a stop sign, to a riff on a dozen critical issues that involved a metaphorical stop sign. One element of Arrow’s genius was to see, and then distill, simple principles, where others saw only murky complexities.[11]

 

Maxim 3 Don’t take refuge in complexity

 

I sat down to prepare a new presentation. It was time for me to get my thinking and my teaching straight. The simplicity principle was my lodestar and salvation. At the next team practice I decided to concentrate on the three factors I thought were most important. “It’s all about the three Hs: Hands, Hips, and Head.” Hands: how you grip the bat with your hands and where you hold your hands in relation to your torso. Hips: how you orient your hips toward the pitcher and swivel them as you swing. Head: how you keep your eyes on the ball all the time, from watching it in the pitcher’s hand to trying to see it touch your bat.

 

Hands, Hips, and Head. That became our mantra. I simplified the complexities of hitting a baseball into its three core elements. They were digestible and sticky.

 

That season our baseball team won the championship for 11-year-old boys in their division of the Newton, Massachusetts, Little League.

 

Maxim 4 When trying to understand a complex real-world situation, think of an everyday analogue

 

Richard often uses an actual negotiation with a contractor fixing his home as an example to illustrate complex real-world negotiations like the Iran nuclear deal. As Alice Heath, a PhD student at the Harvard Kennedy School and a multi-year teaching fellow with Richard says: “Big policy problems are often similar in structure to “smaller” problems that we face every day. The main difference is the number of people impacted. But if we see the analogue to an everyday example, we will be able to really understand the problem and then apply our intuition to the bigger problem.”

 

For example, imagine you are contemplating transporting 100 identical items, one by one, over the Niagara Falls using buckets. There are two types of buckets. The first type has been used 100 times and succeeded in 70 of them. The second type has been used 2 times and succeeded only once. What would you do? This is the kind of classic puzzle that Richard gives to his students and colleagues. Pause for a minute to think about it before you read the answer in the next paragraph. In the absence of any other information or constraints, you should use the second bucket for a few times until you have a better sense of its overall success rate. With the first one, you are reasonably sure that its success rate is close to 70 percent, whereas with the second one you are highly uncertain because it has only been used twice. So you should use the second bucket a number of additional times until you accumulate more evidence and either conclude that the success rate is below 70 percent (in which case you switch to the first bucket), or conclude that the success rate is above 70 percent (in wh