自私或利他主義:

與基督徒朋友的對話

我(由我)發表了以下引文,我的朋友對此作出了回應:

利他主義和利他主義的內在雙重標準...

一位利他主義者會說:“即使我對婚姻不滿意,也應該為自己的伴侶犧牲自己。”

但是,如果您問這個人,“如果情況發生逆轉,您是否希望您的配偶為您犧牲?”答案通常是“不”。而且,如果是“是”,那麼在相反的情況下,該人將不會成為利他主義者。

一位利他主義者會說:“即使我對工作不滿意,也應該為老闆,同事和公司犧牲自己……他們需要我。”

但是,如果您問這個人,“如果情況發生了逆轉,您是否希望員工為公司犧牲自己?”通常答案是“否”。而且,如果是“是”,那麼在相反的情況下,該人將不會成為利他主義者。

一位利他主義者會說:“即使我覺得自己沒有照顧好自己,我也不應因為我的專業服務而向朋友收費。”

但是如果您問這個人,“您是否想讓朋友忽略為您提供免費專業服務來照顧自己呢?”答案通常是“不”。而且,如果是“是”,那麼在相反的情況下,該人將不會成為利他主義者。

一位利他主義者會說:“即使我不願意花時間去幫助這個可憐的人,他們也需要我的幫助,所以我應該幫助他們。”

但是,如果您問同一個人,“如果您像他們一樣貧窮,即使他們對此並不滿意,您是否希望另一個人來幫助您?”,答案通常是“否”。而且,如果是“是”,那麼該人在保留的情況下將不會成為利他主義者。

利他主義是一個雙輸的自相矛盾的倫理體系。

唯一具有誠信的雙贏道德體係是相互自私的體系(考慮長期和短期自私)。”

我朋友的慷慨回應(她來自丹麥):

閱讀您對利他主義和利他主義者的看法,我很困惑。

我們的西方社會是建立在基於耶穌教義的基督教價值觀之上的。

“愛鄰居如己”。這種基本的教導已經滲透到西方社會。建立了學校,大學和醫院,向人們伸出援手並對其進行教育。這主要是從修道院開始的,那裡學過的僧侶傳播知識。今天,這些國家大多是“世俗的基督教國家”。十誡已成為您和我從中受益的社會的基石。

 

由於人性通常是自私和殘酷的,因此遠非完美,但縱觀歐洲國家,它們是先進的社會,其個人福祉是政府政治的中心。基於共享和彼此關心。

因此,當您宣布自己頗為奇怪的想法時,我認為您現在已經受到了中國文化的影響,這種文化確實如此與眾不同,而且在很多方面都極為殘酷,因為個人權利並不重要。

 

在我看來,相互關心並能夠變得無私是最崇高的生活方式。這是最有意義的生活方式。

我對她的回應

歡迎收到您對我的報價的反饋。

 

我認為我們使用的單詞有些模糊。我經常發現“分歧”是因為沒有明確定義詞語。對於利他主義和自私之類的詞尤其如此。

 

儘管其他人可能會使用這些詞來表示不同的含義(雖然在其定義中不是明確的),但我將這些詞用作這些明確的定義的反義詞:

  1. 自私意味著關心自己的健康(長期和短期)。這也意味著,如果您無法找到解決照顧自己和照顧他人之間可能發生的任何衝突的方法,則您應該優先考慮自己(而不是為了他人而犧牲生命)。通常,最好的照顧自己的方法是同時照顧別人,這是相互自私的安排。正如您所說,照顧他人可能會非常有益(但前提是您在過程中沒有犧牲自己)。當大多數人使用自私這個詞時,我發現他們僅指短期自私(而那個人卻忽略了自己的長期自私)。短期的自私可能很殘酷(甚至對雙方)。但是,當您包括長期的自私(這是自私的原因,因為沒有長期的自私,您就不會有充分的自私),盡力與他人的長期自私相處,那麼您將幾乎找不到您的自私與他人的自私之間的任何衝突。在這個相互自私的世界中,雙方都同時獲勝。

  2. 相反,利他主義意味著您的主要關注點是為他人著想,當您照顧自己與照顧他人之間發生衝突時,您願意放棄照顧自己(即犧牲自己)來換取他人不知道如何解決。在過去的33年中與數千名客戶合作,他們中的大多數人因自己在照顧自己和照顧他人(作為義務,作為義務,想成為之所以產生這些衝突,是因為我們文化中的許多教義(包括中國文化,甚至比美國和歐洲文化都更加無私)都曾說過,我們應該為他人而犧牲自己,我們自己的福祉。

PS請參見OOI工具包,以解決在照顧自己和照顧他人之間可能發生的任何衝突的方法。

_020210927.jpg

Selfishness or Altruism:

a dialogue with a Christian friend

I posted the following quote (by me), which my friend responded to:

The inherent double-standard of altruists and altruism...

An altruist will say, "Even though I'm unhappy in my marriage, I should sacrifice myself for my spouse."

Yet, if you ask this person, "Would you want your spouse to sacrifice for you if the circumstances were reversed?" the answer is usually "no." And, if it were "yes," then that person would not be an altruist in the reversed circumstances.

An altruist will say, "Even though I am not happy in my job, I should sacrifice myself for my boss, my colleagues, and my company...they need me."

Yet if you ask this same person, "If the circumstances were reversed, would you want an employee to sacrifice themselves for the company?" usually the answer is "no." And, if it were "yes," then that person would not be an altruist in the reversed circumstances.

An altruist will say, "Even though I feel I am not taking care of myself, I shouldn't charge my friend for my professional services."

Yet if you ask this same person, "Would you want a friend to neglect taking care of themselves by providing free professional services to you?" the answer is usually "no." And, if it were "yes," then that person would not be an altruist in the reversed circumstances.

An altruist, will say, "Even though I don't feel good about taking my time to help out this poor person, they need my help so I should help them."

Yet, if you ask this same person, "If you were poor like they are, would you want another person to help you out even though they wouldn't feel good about doing so?", the answer is usually "no." And, if it were "yes," then that person would not be an altruist in the reserved circumstances.

Altruism is a win-lose self-contradictory ethical system.

The only win-win ethical system that has integrity is a system of mutual selfishness (considering both long-term and short-term selfishness)."

 

My friend's generous response (she's from Denmark):

Reading your thoughts about altruism and altruists I am rather puzzled. 

Our Western society was built on the values of Christianity based on the teachings of Jesus.

"Love your neighbor as yourself". This fundamental teaching has penetrated the Western Society. Schools, universities and hospitals were built reaching out and educating people. It mostly was started in monasteries where learned monks spread knowledge. Today these countries are mostly "secular christian nations". The 10 commandments have been the building stone of a society that you and I have benefitted from.

 

Far from perfect since the human nature is often selfish and cruel, but looking at the European countries they are advanced societies where the individual wellbeing is at the center of the governments politics. Based on sharing and caring for each other.

 

So when you proclaim your rather strange ideas, I think you have now been influenced by the Chinese  culture that certainly is so different and in many ways terribly cruel since individual rights are so unimportant. 

 

Caring for each other and being able to be altruistic is in my opinion the most noble way to live. And the most deeply rewarding way to live ones life.

My response to her response

Your feedback on my quote was welcome.

 

I think there is some fuzziness about the words we are using. I often find that “disagreements” are because words have not been clearly defined. This is especially true for words like altruism and selfishness. 

 

Although others may use these words to mean something different (while not being explicit in their definitions), I use these words as antonyms with these explicit definitions: 

  1. selfishness means concern about your own wellbeing (both long-term and short-term). It also means that, if you can’t find a way to resolve any conflict that may arise between taking care of yourself and taking care of another, that you prioritize yourself (not sacrificing your life for another). Most often, the best way to take care of yourself is through taking care of others at the same time, an arrangement of mutual selfishness. As you said, taking care of others can be very rewarding (but only if you're not sacrificing yourself in the process). When most people use the word selfishness, I find they are referring only to short-term selfishness (while that person is neglecting their own long-term selfishness). Short-term selfishness can be cruel (even to both sides). But when you include long-term selfishness (which is what selfishness is, because without long-term selfishness, you don’t have full selfishness), doing your best to dovetail with the long-term selfishness of others, then you will rarely find any conflict between your selfishness and the selfishness of others. In this world of mutual selfishness both (all) sides win at the same time.

  2. In contrast, altruism means that your primary concern is for others and that you are willing to give up taking care of yourself (that is, sacrifice yourself) for another when a conflict between taking care of yourself and taking care of another arises that you don’t know how to resolve. Having worked with thousands of clients over the past 33 years, most of them have suffered deeply because of the internal battles they’ve felt between taking care of themselves and taking care of others (as an obligation, as a duty, as wanting to be a “good person.”) These conflicts arise because much of the teachings in our cultures (including the Chinese culture, which is even more altruistic than the American and European cultures) that have said we should sacrifice ourselves for others, at the expense of our own wellbeing.

P.S. See the OOI toolkit for ways to resolve any conflicts that may arise between taking care of oneself and taking care of others.

COPYRIGHT 2018-2020 BY DWIGHT GOLDWINDE