0processfirst.jpg

如果車輛像您的項目/活動一樣,並且交通設計/流程是生活過程中的重要組成部分,您是否希望生活像上面的迎面而來的流量一樣流動?

首先,流程的完整概念是什麼?

讓我們開發車輛/交通的隱喻

我將使用這個隱喻(進行一些調整)向您全面傳達“優先考慮過程而不是結果”的含義。對結果進行優先級排序包括兩個相當不同的優先級(它們也相互影響)。當一起完成時,它們構成了優先考慮過程而不是結果的完整思想。我將它們稱為PP1PP2 ,以將過程的優先級1和2優先於結果。

如果您成功地實現和維護了此功能,那麼您正在創建和維護Now-Next完整性

項目,活動,例程和任務(部分)

考慮在高速公路上為您的不同rojects,一個ctivities,R烏蒂內的車輛和T要求,填補了每天24小時和168小時內每星期。簡而言之,我們稱這些部分為

確保PP1是什麼意思?

通常,我們的習慣是假設Next可以在不諮詢Now的情況下安排我們的一周和一天。我們的Next不會停止以確保我們的Now包括在內,並且可能願意並且渴望參與並繼續進行Next計劃/需要在每天和每周中包含的所有這些部分(如果不是全部)的過程。由於Next未能完成與Now保持一致的工作,因此Next通常不得不勉強或反叛地拖拉Now來完成今天的大部分工作。因此,很難度過每一天,最後我們很少感到幸福和充實。

就像高速公路上的每個車輛/駕駛員都有一個預定的目的地一樣,我們這一天的每一部分都有預期的結果,即使結果只是放鬆一下而放鬆。洗碗,和朋友聊天,吃點心,取消約會,休息,和老闆談加薪。這些都是您一天中的所有部分。他們“消耗”您每一天的時間不多於不少於24小時。

但是,如果特定的車輛/駕駛員(作為充實我們一天的一部分的隱喻)在旅途中狀態不佳(駕駛員,疲倦的駕駛員,車輛運行不正常,汽油不足,沒有上油),該怎麼辦? ,光頭輪胎,剎車和油門無法配合使用)。如果是上述任何一種情況,那麼都沒關係(例如,如果您沒有汽油),至少對於該駕駛員而言,您是否是交通便捷的高速公路上的駕駛員(如左圖所示)上面的照片)或在交通擁堵的高速公路上(如右圖)。無論交通狀況如何,您都不會成為一個快樂的露營者。

確保PP1意味著在一天中的各個部分(分別進行設置和完成)中創建Now-Next完整性。 Now和Next都很高興,並且與每個部分的“操作”保持一致。

確保PP2是什麼意思?

您可以始終如一地處理PP1 。但是,如果您還不處理PP2 ,您仍將經歷一段艱難的旅程,可能會感到沮喪和沮喪。交通堵塞和交通緩慢將是常見的情況。汽車會擋住車門,有時會撞在一起。多車堆積,造成交通中斷和擁堵,導致問題和延誤有時會持續數天。出行時間(完成時間)將比您預期或想要的時間長得多。您將錯過與需要會合的其他車輛的連接。通常,對於高速公路上幾乎所有車輛的所有駕駛員(所有零件)來說,一切都會變得一團糟。

為什麼會這樣?

因為您默認使用高速公路和道路的交通控制器來設計和使用交通。這是您創建Now-Next完整性和您想要的生活所必需的全部內容。處理PP2對於使所有組件協同工作至關重要。但是您忽略了維護交通系統生態系統的責任,該系統對道路上的所有車輛(即您幾天和幾週內包括的所有零件)都適用。您已允許過度使用有限的道路空間(您每天有限的24小時),造成您自己的公地悲劇(通過不限制您在24小時內放置的零件以及每個零件獲得多少時間)使用)。

規劃足夠的緩衝區和“利用率不足”

作為交通管制員,您的工作是優先考慮交通的便捷性,並最大程度地減少高速公路上發生故障的機率(超過高速公路上允許的車輛數量)。如果您必須在道路上再增加一輛車輛(也就是一部分)之間進行選擇,並在故障最少的情況下保持交通流量,則始終選擇後者。如果您保持此優先級,那麼駕駛員(即您在24小時內計劃的每個部分的每個操作者)將優先於您權限範圍內的高速公路(即您自己生命中的時間使用),而不是所有其他受控高速公路由其他交通管制員比較(與大多數其他人的生活設定相比)。查看Doer和Planner

作為交通管制員,您擁有無窮的力量。您可以確保高速公路保持良好的狀態,設計為便於流動,而將事故或減速的可能性降到最低。您可以頻繁地安排休息站和其他服務(例如加氣),以使駕駛員不會感到疲勞,並且他們總是可以加油。整個系統的設計旨在促進輕鬆,有趣,有效的流量(一天中幾週的部分流量)。

成為您生活中的“交通管制員”

想像一下,您已經學會了作為交通管制員(規劃您一天中如何選擇和佈置零件的計劃者)來工作,以便您甚至在使用高速公路通行能力方面有些不足(與其他交通管制員總是過高估計)他們可以在高速公路上允許多少輛車)。這樣,如果不時發生車輛故障(或者可能需要緊急救護車上高速公路),那麼高速公路上將有足夠的緩衝空間,這樣通常不會影響其他車輛(道路的其他部分)您的一天)。是的,作為交通管制,你有時不得不選擇有勇氣說給駕駛員/車輛存在的高速公路上沒有更多的空間(至少不是今天)(你覺得你必須把你的計劃的一部分)。您也不允許高速公路上的駕駛員/車輛,除非他們指定了將使用高速公路的最長時間(您當天安排的每個部分都必須有時間限制:“我將完成此任務或花45分鐘,以先到者為準”)。如果允許車輛“按需使用/使用盡可能多的東西”,那麼這將使系統發揮最大作用(再次造成您自己的個人公地悲劇)。

當您開始精通確保PP1PP2的工作時,所有其他交通管制員以及必須在高速公路上而不是您的高速公路上行駛的汽車的駕駛員。會對您的工作方式感到驚訝,這對他們來說似乎是不可能的。許多人會嘗試通過“您的高速公路系統與我們的高速公路系統不同。無論您在做什麼,都無法在這里工作”來解釋它。他們幾乎不知道。

您愛著自己的日子,幾週,一生。你流動,生命流動。無論是一天的結束還是下一天的開始,您的Now和Next都感覺很棒。他們很少再打架了。即使存在故障或“困難的決定”,這也很容易。您還看到,從總體上看,當您堅持認為沒有辦法可以將所有東西(零件)從盤子上拿下來並優先處理該過程時,您將比以前更加成就(這使您的下一個感到高興)。結果。

五個因素(一個或多個)可能使您無法創建PP1和PP2。

Moneycuffs :看來您需要改變甚至開始新的職業才能建立自己的生活,以便您熱愛自己在做的事情,並且所有事情都一起流淌。您被鎖定在當前的工作中(現金手銬),因為它帶來的收入比您原先認為的要多。所有的錢都花光了。您已經“擁有它”。

時間袖扣:與金錢袖扣相比,我們更多的是時間袖扣造成的“僵硬牢獄”。您的下一個擁有她或他想做,需要做,必須做,必須做,答應做的所有這些事情(部分),而這些事情要佔用您一天中的24小時以上。最重要的是,您的即時消息經常在這里和那裡獲取大量時間(未計劃),從而使您的計劃更加混亂。根本沒有辦法優先處理流程而不是結果。您堅持說:“所有這些事情都必須完成。”

Peoplecuff袖口:也可以稱為HOGAB袖口。他人的需求,期望和要求,以及您對他人的承諾和義務,使PP1PP2的生活成為不可能。您要么糾結(或讓自己糾結)於其他人的需求,以至於似乎無法優先考慮照顧自己。

自我袖口:我們也可以將這些袖口稱為“身份袖口”或“對他人好看的袖口”。 Egocuffs創建了一個“僵硬的監獄”,因為您正試圖證明某些事情(例如,您可以做更多的事情,或者您是一個好的配偶)。您可能會覺得您需要維持或增加他人所認為的“成功”。你不能放棄。您的自尊心就是基於此。

沉沒的成本偏差:您已經投入了多年的時間和精力來嘗試使舊方法起作用(結果優先)。你不能只是放棄一切。如果您不堅持並最終使之奏效,那麼所有這些歲月和努力都將徒勞無功。您不能背棄並背叛所有您一生都相信(甚至教給別人)的堅持和“沒有痛苦,就沒有收穫”的理想。

循序漸進(並有勇氣)

從一個或多個袖帶中抽身的成本似乎比這樣做的好處還多。而且,是的,可能會有一次性交易成本。有了一些創造力並逐步採取行動,甚至可以將這些最小化。最重要的是,您需要選擇勇氣。儘管繼續使用舊的默認方法優先考慮結果而不是對流程進行優先級分配的成本令人費解,但這並不會比您已經習慣的持續焦慮和壓力背景所激發的更多。你知道你可以忍受。您已經像其他大多數人一樣,一生都完成了一個或另一個級別的工作。這是“正常”的方式。

站起來

即使您不了解掌握PP1PP2 (首先進行處理)的路徑的所有細節,也沒有必要開始並繼續進行。第一步是宣布這個新的生活方向。

“我,(您的名字)宣布,我將成為把結果放在首位的大師!”

然後,使用Kickstarting一種精神習慣來記住此聲明,並繼續尋找下一個可行的步驟。然後把它拿走。然後再說一次。然後再次。這就是成為要成為流程第一和現在至下一步的完整性的專家所需要的全部。

每當您發現與下一步有關的任何恐懼時,請使用“撤消恐懼”與該恐懼交朋友,並充分利用其能量。包括引導自己完成選擇勇氣的所有四個步驟(消除恐懼是這四個步驟中的第一步)。

如果您仍然對改變生活中的這一重大新方向的想法感到不知所措,請查看“感謝上帝”,這將需要很長時間

“除非有人下定決心,否則就會有猶豫,退縮的機會,總是無效的。

關於所有主動(和創造)行為,只有一個基本真理:

愚昧無知殺死了無數的想法和輝煌的計劃:

當一個人堅定承諾的那一刻,那麼天意也隨之而動。

 

“發生了各種各樣的事情來幫助一個原本不會發生的事情。

決策中產生了一系列事件,贏得了人們的支持

各種不可預見的事件和會議以及物質援助,

沒有人夢dream以求的事情會如願以償。

 

“我對歌德的一副對聯非常了解:

 

“無論您能做什麼,或者夢想能夠做到的,都開始吧。

 

膽識中蘊含著天才,力量和魔力。””

 

-WH默里

*020210328.jpg

0processfirst.jpg

If vehicles were like your projects/activities and the traffic design/flow was an important part of the process of your life, would you prefer your life to flow like the oncoming traffic above, or like the flow on the right?

What's the full idea of process first?

Let's develop the vehicle/traffic metaphor

 

I'll use this metaphor (with some adjustments) to communicate to you comprehensively the meaning of "prioritizing process over results." Prioritizing process over results includes two fairly distinct prioritizations (that also affect each other). When done together, they constitute the complete idea of prioritizing process over results. I'll call these PP1 and PP2, for prioritization # 1 and #2 of the process over results.

 

To the extent that you successfully implement and maintain this you are creating and maintaining Now-Next integrity.

The projects, activities, routines, and tasks (parts)

Consider the vehicles on a highway as your various projects, activities, routines, and tasks that fill the 24 hours of every day and the 168 hours of every week. For short, let's call these parts

What does it mean to ensure PP1?

Often our habit is to assume that our Next gets to set up our week and to set up our day without consulting with our Now. Our Next doesn't stop to ensure that our Now is included and likely to be willing and eager to engage and continue in the process of many, if not all of these parts that Next plans/needs to include in each day and each week. Because our Next fails to do the work to align with our Now, Next often has to drag Now grudgingly or rebelliously through getting most of the parts done in our day. Consequently, it's difficult to get through the day and we're rarely happy and fulfilled at the end. 

Just as each vehicle/driver on the highway has an intended destination, each of the parts of our day has an intended result, even if the result is just to relax by taking a break. Get the dishes washed, enjoy a chat with a friend, eat a snack, cancel an appointment, get some rest, talk with the boss about a raise. These are all parts of your day. They "consume" no more and no less than 24 hours of each of your days.

 

But what if a particular vehicle/driver (as a metaphor for one of the parts that fill our day) was not in great shape for the trip (bad driver, tired driver, vehicle doesn't run well, not enough gas, not oiled, bald tires, brakes and accelerators don't work in coordination). If any of these were the case, it would not matter much (for example, if you ran out of gas), at least for that driver, whether you were a driver on a highway where the traffic flowed easily (as on the left in the photo above) or on the highway with a traffic jam (as on the right). Regardless of how great the traffic situation is, you're not going to be a happy camper.

Ensuring PP1 means creating Now-Next integrity regarding all the parts of your day, as they are set up and done individually. Both Now and Next are happy and aligned with the "doing" of each part.

What does it mean to ensure PP2?

Assume that you are consistently handling PP1. But, if you don't also handle PP2, you're still going to have a rough journey, likely with frustration and upset. Traffic jams and slow traffic will be a common occurrence. Cars will tailgate and sometimes crash together. Multi-vehicle pile ups, creating traffic stoppage and jams, causing problems and delays will sometimes stretch over several days. Travel times (accomplishment times) will take much longer than you anticipated or wanted. You'll miss your connections with other vehicles that you needed to rendezvous with. In general, everything will be an entangled mess with a lots of upset for almost all of the drivers (all of the parts) of all the vehicles on the highway.

Why does this happen?

Because you've defaulted on your power as the traffic controller of how the highways and roads are designed and get used. This is all part of what's necessary for you to create Now-Next integrity and the life you want. Handling PP2 is essential for making everything work well together. But you've neglected your responsibility for maintaining a traffic system ecology that works well for all vehicles on the road (that is, all the parts that you include in your days and weeks). You've allowed over-use of the limited road-space (your limited 24 hours in each day), creating your own personal tragedy of the commons (by not limiting the parts you put in your 24 hours and how much time each part gets to use).

Planning for adequate buffer and "under utilization"

As the traffic controller, your job is to prioritize the easy and quick flow of traffic and also minimize the chances of breakdowns on the highway. You prioritize this over how many vehicles you allow on the highway. If you have to choose between adding one more vehicle to the road (that is, one more part) and maintaining the flow of traffic with minimal breakdowns, then you always choose the latter. If you maintain this priority, then the highways under your purview (that is, the time use in your own life) are preferred by drivers (that is, each doer of each part that you schedule within your 24 hours) over all other highways controlled by other traffic controllers (compare to how most others set up their life). Check out Doer and the Planner.

As the traffic controller you have immense power. You can ensure the highways are kept in great shape, designed for easy flow with minimal possibility of accidents or slow downs. You can include rest stops and other services (like filling up for gas) at frequent intervals so that drivers don't get fatigued and they can always have plenty of gas (like taking a five-minute break every 25 minutes). The whole system is designed to facilitate the easy, fun, effective flow of traffic (flow of the parts of your days and weeks). 

Becoming the "traffic controller" of your life

Imagine you have learned to do your job as the traffic controller (planner of how you select and arrange the parts in your day) so that you're even a little bit under using the highway capacity (unlike other traffic controllers who are always over estimating how many vehicles they can allow on their highways). This way, if there are vehicle breakdowns (or maybe an emergency ambulance needs to get on the highway) from time to time, there will be enough buffer on the highway so that it doesn't usually affect the other vehicles (the other parts of your day). Yes, as the traffic controller you sometimes have to choose courage to say to a driver/vehicle (a part you think you have to put on your schedule) that there's no more room on the highway (at least not today). You also do not allow driver/vehicles on the highway unless they specify the maximum amount of time they will use the highway (each part scheduled in your day must have a time limit: "I will finish this task or spend 45 minutes on it, whichever comes first"). If the vehicles were allowed to use "as much as they wanted/needed," then that would max out the system (again creating the tragedy of your own personal commons).

When you begin to master your job of ensuring both PP1 and PP2, all the other traffic controllers, as well as the drivers of cars that have to drive on their highways instead of yours will be amazed at how you're doing what seems impossible to them. Many will try to explain it by, "Well your highway system is different than ours (your life situation is different than ours). Whatever you're doing wouldn't work over here." Little do they know.

You're loving your days, your weeks, your life. You flow and life flows. Both your Now and your Next are feeling great both at the end of your day and the beginning of the next one. They rarely fight any more. It's easy, even when there are breakdowns or "difficult decisions." You also see that, in the big picture, you're getting even more accomplished than previously (this makes your Next happy) when you didn't have PP1 and PP2 and you were insisting that there was no way you could take things (parts) off your plate and prioritize the process over the results.

Five factors (one or in combination) may make creating PP1 and PP2 seem "impossible"

Moneycuffs: It seems that you need to change up or even start a new career in order to set up your life so that you're loving what you're doing and it all flows together. But you're locked into your current job (moneycuffs) because it brings in more money than you think you could get otherwise. And all that money is going out. You've "got to have it."

 

Timecuffs: Even more of us are in the "jail of inflexibility" from timecuffs than from moneycuffs. Your Next has all these things (parts) that she or he wants to do, needs to do, has to do, promised to do and they more than take up (even though they can't) the 24 hours in your day. On top of that, your Now often grabs chunks of time (that wasn't scheduled) here and there and messes up your plans even more. There is just no way to prioritize process over results. "All this stuff has to get done," you insist.

Peoplecuffs: These also might be called the HOGABcuffs. The needs, expectations, and demands of others, along with your promises and the obligations you think you have to others, make creating a life with PP1 and PP2 out of the question. You have either entangled (or allowed yourself to be entangled) with other people's needs and expectations so that it seems impossible to prioritize taking care of yourself.

Egocuffs: We could also call these cuffs your "identity cuffs" or your "looking-good-to-others cuffs." Egocuffs create a "jail of inflexibility" because you're trying to prove something (for example, that you can do more or that you're a good spouse). You could feel that you need to maintain or increase your "success" as viewed by others. You can't give that up. Your whole sense of your self-esteem is based upon that.

Sunk cost bias: You've already invested years of time and effort in trying to make the old way work (results first). You can't just give that all up. All those years and effort will have been suffered in vain if you don't stick with and eventually make it work. You can't turn your back on and betray all those ideals of persistence and "no pain, no gain" that you've believed in (and even taught to others) all your life.

Step by step (and with courage)

It can seem that the costs of extracting yourself from one or more of these cuffs would be more than the benefits of doing so. And, yes, there can be one-time transaction costs. With some creativity and taking things step by step, even those can be minimized. Above all, you will need to choose courage. Even though the costs of continuing in the old default way of prioritizing results over process are life-numbing, it doesn't stimulate more than the ongoing background of anxiety and stress that you're already used to. You know you can tolerate it. You've done that all you life, to one degree or another, like most everyone else. It's the "normal" way to be. Everybody agrees.

Taking the stand

Even though you don't know all the details of the path toward mastering PP1 and PP2 (process first), it's not necessary in order to get started and keep going. The first step is to declare this new life direction.

"I, (your name), declare that I am moving toward becoming a master at putting process first over results!"

Then use Kickstarting a mental habit to keep this declaration in mind and to keep looking for the next do-able step. And then take that step. Then again. And again. That's all it takes to become a master at process first and Now-Next integrity.

Whenever you notice any fear associated with taking the next step, use Undoing fear to make friends with that fear and tap into its energies. Include taking yourself through all four steps of choosing courage (undoing fear is the first of those four steps).

If you're still feeling overwhelmed by the idea of making this major new course change in your life, check out Thank God it'll take a long time.

“Until one is committed there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness. 

Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation), there is one elementary Truth,

the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans:

that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then providence moves too.

 

“All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. 

A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor

all manner of unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance,

which no man could have dreamt would come his way.

 

“I have learned a deep respect for one of Goethe’s couplets:

 

‘Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it.

 

Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.’”

 

                  -W.H. Murray

*020210328.jpg