富人也有這個問題

您會認為,與世界上的人民一樣富有,他們自然會擁有更多的資源和能力來創建和維護緩衝區。

  • 資金緩衝

  • 時間緩衝

  • 健康緩衝區

僅列出主要的。

看看這個驚人的圖表:

0Buffer3.jpeg

這是內部問題,而不是外部問題

當然,此圖表著重於有多少人擺脫了極端貧困。儘管有這樣一個事實,世界人口在1820年略超過10億,而在2015年為73億。它不關注的是我們中許多“普通民眾”的富裕程度。 200年前的國王或皇帝很樂意與當今任何西方國家的平均工資收入者進行交易。

但是可用資源似乎與緩衝區沒有太大關係。我認識一些富有的美國人和富有的中國人,他們的金錢,時間,甚至健康狀況都很少。他們將自己的生活(也許默認情況下)設計為始終生活在懸崖附近。而且通常,他們不得不應對由於缺乏緩衝區和“掉到懸崖邊緣”而導致的另一次故障。

相比之下,我知道幾個朋友的收入要少得多,但他們的生活很少因為擁有足夠的緩衝而沮喪。

有緩衝的生活很容易享受,很少發生故障。沒有緩衝的生活壓力很大,不僅會給中心人物帶來痛苦,還會給救援人員帶來麻煩(“媽媽,直到週五的發薪日,我只需要一點錢”)。

創建和維護緩衝區需要什麼?

緩衝區不足主要是“下一個問題”,有時還會因“自己-他人”問題而變得更加複雜。眼下看來緊急或舒適的事情(花錢,有前途,沒有遵守界限,安排日程安排得太多,吃得不好)覆蓋了有效的下一個擔憂,即生活在具有更多緩衝(遠離懸崖)的未來中會更加愉快。

緩衝區類型

讓我們研究幾種類型的緩衝區,它們可以分開考慮,但由於它們經常相互滲入而具有協同作用。

  • 資金緩衝

  • 時間緩衝

  • 健康緩衝區

  • 能量緩衝器

  • 備份緩衝區

  • 小心緩衝

  • 關係緩衝區

資金緩衝

缺乏資金緩衝影響了大多數人,不論貧富。從現在開始,它發展得最頻繁的是沉迷於從我們的未來借錢,而不是向我們的未來借錢。過於樂觀的預測常常助長了我們如何以某種方式擁有比現在更多的未來可支配資金。缺少對我們的定期支出和收入保持清晰了解的習慣也使它保持不變。

對於我們這些缺乏資金緩衝的人來說,我們經常將很多樂趣與花錢和現在買東西聯繫在一起。相反,當我們找到省錢或不花錢的方法時,那些擁有足夠資金緩衝的人已經學會了感到愉悅。

時間緩衝

有人說,那些賺很多錢的人沒有空閒時間,那些擁有很多空閒時間的人沒有空閒錢。

可能是這種情況,尤其是如果我們不自覺地將自己的生活設計成既有自由時間又有自由金錢。

無論如何,我知道很多人的自由錢和空閒時間都很少。他們總是從未來借錢和時間。

通常,我們這些沒有時間緩衝區的人由Next主導。我們的下一個堅持認為,我們要做的越來越多。 “這需要完成。我落後了。老闆一直希望我做更多的事情。事情在等我。我今天真的必須完成所有這些事情。”我們用“必須要做的事”充實自己的生活。我們通過完成的事情來衡量自己。我們總是過分有希望。

建立和維持時間緩衝的關鍵是選擇勇於承擔對自己和他人的承諾。檢查執行者和計劃者,以了解創建和維護時間緩衝區的重要方法。

健康緩衝區

我們中的許多人都認為健康保險(實際上應該稱為疾病保險)是健康的緩衝。但是,這種保險只有在我們跌倒懸崖之後才對我們有幫助。實際上,它可能使我們感到更安全,這可能有消極的作用,因為我們知道如果我們跌落懸崖將被“救出”。

真正的健康保險正在採取一致的行動,以使自己盡可能遠離懸崖。

這表示:

  • 消除生活中的煩惱和壓力(請參閱消除煩惱消除壓力)。

  • 飲食和補充長壽(我每天吃純素食,但每天吃一個沙丁魚除外)。我是我所認識的最健康的76歲老人(截至2021年1月)。

  • 鍛煉身體(請參閱“每週5分鍾健身一次” )。

  • 態度(生活是我的遊樂場,發生的一切都是對我的禮物)。

健康緩衝液中最重要的是強大的免疫系統。我推薦這本書:超級免疫力:必不可少的營養指南,可增強身體的防禦能力,使其更長壽,更強壯,更無病。

能量緩衝器

能量緩衝區與運行狀況緩衝區密切相關,但它們應單獨分類。

假設您已經解決了上面提到的健康緩衝因素,那麼擁有足夠能量的另一個前提就是足夠的休息。我將充足的睡眠和休息作為我生活中的第一要務,只有呼吸和上廁所才能超越。我設計了自己的生活,不僅可以讓我睡個好覺(通常從晚上9點到凌晨4點),而且還可以從上午11:30開始午睡約1.5個小時。我每天兩次得到新鮮的“早晨”。

其他影響我精力的因素還有兩杯咖啡(凌晨4點一杯,午睡後一杯),熱的可可飲料和甜葉菊,偶爾還有100毫克的莫達非尼。我提到這些,不一定是建議,而只是作為我發現對我有用的示例。您要小心使用興奮劑,因為恢復時間可能比受益時間花費更多。您還想確保它們不會對您的健康造成長期損害。

我還大聲尖叫鍛煉身體無所事事

備份緩衝區

您是否有足夠的備份來保存計算機數據和電話數據?如果您將自己鎖在屋外,是否有隱藏的或易於獲取的備份密鑰?假期裡,您是否需要帶一副老花鏡?如果您需要快速進行維修,您是否可以輕鬆訪問電話號碼?您是否要提前訂購不想用完的那些物品?

小心緩衝

你總是係安全帶嗎?你避免拖尾嗎?您會注意爬樓梯嗎?完成後,您是否將某些東西放到正確的位置?您是否在前一天與他人確認所有約會?您是否創建,維護和使用適當的提醒系統,以便在需要記住時不會忘記某些東西? (我為此Todoist.com使用的一個非常有價值的應用程序)。在這方面,請檢查一下運行水密船的情況

關係緩衝區

1998年,當一個我深愛的女人向我道別時,我每天哭了五個星期。每天我都會打電話給另一個朋友。我問他們每個人,“請不要試圖振作起來。請不要給我建議。請聽我與我分享我的傷心欲絕,我擔心自己再也找不到適合我的女人了。好。”因為我有足夠多的好朋友可以公開分享,所以我不必費心任何一個朋友的耳朵。我有關係緩衝區。順便說一句,在每天哭泣五週並與我的朋友分享之後,我的心完全碎了,我再次向愛敞開。

問問自己,在與家人,同事,朋友的關係中,您是否可以向他們尋求幫助而不會感到被利用呢?

關係緩衝的另一種類型是與他人建立和維護界限,在其中您要照顧好自己,而您不太可能將自己視為他們的受害者(也就是說,您最終會怨恨他們,指責他們或對他們感到防禦)。您也說“不”,並要求他人提出要求,以建立相互自私的關係。

我擁有大量關係緩衝的原因之一是,我以發現自私(長期和短期)與其自私相輔相成的方式來建立和維持人際關係。這種方法產生了相互慷慨和善意的感覺,如果需要,任何一方都可以使用。

足夠的緩衝區(順便說一句,可能有太多的緩衝區,創建緩衝區的成本超過可能的收益)將成為創建Now-Next完整性以及自己-他人的自然副產品。誠信請參閱NNI工具箱OOI工具箱

0revised 20210107.jpg

COPYRIGHT 2018-2020 BY DWIGHT GOLDWINDE

It's an internal problem, not an external one

Of course, this chart focuses on how many have risen out of extreme poverty. And that is notwithstanding the fact that the world population was a bit over one billion in 1820, whereas it was 7.3 billion in 2015. What it doesn't focus on is how rich many of the rest of us "common folk" have become. The king or emperor of 200 years ago would gladly trade places with the average wage earner in any Western country today.

But available resources don't seem to have much to do with buffer. I know some rich Americans and rich Chinese whose money, time, and even health buffers are scant. They have designed their life (maybe by default) to always live near the cliffs. And fairly often, they're having to deal with another breakdown caused by their lack of buffers and "falling over the edge of the cliff."

In contrast I know several friends who make much less money yet their life is rarely upset because they have adequate buffers.

A life with buffers is easy to enjoy and occasions few breakdowns. A life without buffers is stressful and creates recurring upsets, not only for the central character but also for his rescuers ("Mom, I just need a little money until payday on Friday").

What does it take to create and maintain buffers?

Lack of buffers is mostly a Now-Next issue, sometimes compounded by a Oneself-Others issue. Things that seem urgent or comfortable to Now (spending money, over promising, not keeping boundaries, packing your schedule too full, eating poorly) override a valid Next concern to live in a future that has more buffers (stays away from the cliff) and will be more enjoyable.

Types of buffers

Let's examine several types of buffers, which can be considered separately but also are synergistic because they often bleed into each other.

  • Money buffers

  • Time buffers

  • Health buffers

  • Energy buffers

  • Backup buffers

  • Carefulness buffers

  • Relationship buffers

Money buffers

Lack of money buffers affects a majority of people, both rich and poor. It develops most often from Now indulging in borrowing money from our future, instead of lending money to our future. Often it is fueled by an overly optimistic projection of how we will somehow have more discretionary money in our future than we have now. It is also kept in place by the missing habit of keeping an unobscured view of our regular outgo and income. 

For those of us who lack money buffers, we often associate much pleasure with spending money and getting things now. In contrast, those of us who have an adequate money buffer have learned to feel pleasure when we find ways to save money or not spend money.

Time buffers

It's said that those who make a lot of money have no free time and those who have a lot of free time have no free money.

This can be the case, especially if we don't consciously design our life to have both free time and free money.

Regardless, I know a lot of people have both very little free money and free time. They are always borrowing both money and time from the future.

Typically, those of us without time buffers are dominated by Next. Our Next insists that we do more and more. "This needs to be done. I'm behind at that. My boss is always expecting me to do something more. Things are waiting for me. I really must get all these things done today." We fill our life with things we "have to do." We measure ourselves by how much we can get done. We are constantly over promising.

The key to creating and maintaining time buffers is to choose courage to under promise, both to ourselves and to others. Check out the doer and the planner for an important way to create and maintain time buffers.

Health buffers

Many of us consider health insurance (actually it should be called sickness insurance) to be a health buffer. However, this insurance only helps us after we have fallen over the cliff. In fact, it may serve a negative purpose where it makes us feel safer because we know we will be "rescued" if we fall over the cliff.

True health insurance is taking consistent action so as to stay as far away from that cliff as possible. 

This means:

  • Removing worry and stress from your life (see undoing worry and undoing stress)

  • Eating and supplementing for longevity (I eat vegan except for one sardine and one organic egg per day). I am the healthiest 75-year old person I personally know.

  • Exercising for health (see stay fit in 9-minutes a week)

  • Attitude (life is my playground, everything that happens is a gift for me)

The most important of the health buffers is a robust immune system. I recommend this book: Super Immunity: The Essential Nutrition Guide for Boosting Your Body's Defenses to Live Longer, Stronger, and Disease Free.

Energy buffers

Energy buffers are closely related to health buffers, but they deserve a separate category.

Assuming you've addressed the health-buffer factors mentioned above, an additional antecedent for having adequate energy is enough rest. I place getting sufficient sleep and feeling rested as a #1 priority in my life, only exceeded by breathing and going to the toilet. I've designed my life so that, not only can I get a good night's rest (usually from 9pm to 4am), but I also take an early afternoon nap starting around 11:30am for about 1.5 hours. I get fresh "mornings" twice a day.

 

Other factors that contribute my energy are two coffees (one at 4am and one after my nap), hot cocoa drinks with stevia, and occasionally 100mg of modafinil. I mention these, not necessarily as recommendations but just as examples of what I've discovered that works for me. You want to be careful with stimulants because the recovery time may cost more than the benefit time. Also you want to ensure that they pose no long-term damage to your health.

I also use screamingexercise, and doing nothing to recharge myself.

Backup buffers

Do you have sufficient backups for your computer data and phone data? Do you have a hidden or easy-to-get-to backup key if you lock yourself out of the house? Do you have an extra pair of reading glasses to take along on your holiday? Do you have easy access to telephone numbers in case you need repairs done quickly? Do you order ahead for those items you don't want to run out of? 

Carefulness buffers

Do you always wear seat belts? Do you avoid tailgating? Do you climb and descend stairs mindfully? Do you put something away in its right place when you've finished with it? Do you confirm all your appointments with others the day before? Do you create, maintain, and use appropriate reminder systems so that you don't forget something when you need to remember it? (one invaluable app I use for this Todoist.com). In this regard, check out running a water-tight ship

Relationship buffers

When a woman I loved deeply said goodbye to me in 1998, I cried everyday for five weeks. Each day I would call up a different friend. I asked each of them, "Please don't try to cheer me up. Please don't give me advice. Just listen to me share with you about my heartbreak and my fear that I will never find a woman again who fits me so well." Because I had enough good friends that I could share openly with, I didn't have to bend the ear of any one friend too much. I had relationship buffers. By the way, after five weeks of crying every day and sharing with my friends, my heart was completely broken and I was open for love again.

 

Ask yourself, in your relationships with your family members, with your colleagues, with your friends, do you feel you could ask them for help without them feeling taken advantage of?

Another type of relationship buffer is creating and maintaining boundaries with others in which you're taking care of yourself and you're less likely to see yourself as their victim (that is, you end up resenting them or blaming them or feeling defensive with them). Also you say "no" and make requests of others in order to create mutually selfish relationships.

One reason I have a lot of relationship buffer is that I create and maintain my relationships with an attitude of finding ways where my selfishness (long-term and short-term) and their selfishness are complementary. This approach creates a feeling of mutual generosity and good will, which either side can use, if needed.

Adequate buffers (by the way, it's possible to have too much buffer, where the cost of creating the buffer is more than the likely benefits) will come as a natural by-product of creating Now-Next integrity, as well as Oneself-Others integrity. See the NNI toolkit and the OOI toolkit.

The rich have this problem too

You'd think that as rich as the people in the world have become, they would naturally have more resources and abilities to create and maintain buffers.

  • Money buffers

  • Time buffers

  • Health buffers

just to name the major ones.

Just look at this amazing chart: