害怕無畏的完整性

選擇勇氣=建立無所畏懼的誠信

我最近清楚的是,我所說的選擇勇氣的四步過程是創建Now-Next Integrity的主要,重要子類別之一。從邏輯上講,我以前稱為選擇勇氣的工具包(現在更好地描述為創建“無所畏懼的完整性”)只是NNI工具包中的工具包。它是如此基礎,但是它值得擁有自己的工具包,我最近將其重命名為FFI工具包,以前稱為CCC工具包,以前一直選擇勇氣。

讓“受驚的”和“無所畏懼的”平等?

與我用來區分我們這兩個部分的單詞“現在自己”不同,受驚嚇一詞具有某種否定的含義。現在的工作是嘗試現在變得快樂,當它與將來的快樂發生衝突時。當自己的自身利益與他人的自身利益發生衝突時,自己的工作就是照顧自己。

誰受到驚嚇

但是,受驚嚇試圖為我們做什麼?它的工作是設法現在變得更安全,更舒適,甚至警告我們可能的短期危險或成本,例如有人對我們生氣。像Now一樣,其工作重點是著眼於現在感覺良好而不是現在感到不舒服的短期收益,以及獲得短期收益和避免短期成本。與現在的“大老闆”不同,諾瓦的專長是試圖在短期內不感到害怕或不安全,並在他們似乎與擁有大頭針衝突時獲得短期利益並避免短期成本。下一個未來的未來。

誰是無所畏懼

我將Fearless指定為我們希望自己的未來好而不壞的那一部分。 Fearless的工作是使我們前進,而不管短期內經歷的恐懼和不適,並接受任何短期成本並放棄任何短期利益,以換取Fearless對我們的未來感興趣的利益。

恐懼的人(近期專注)和恐懼的人(長期關注)的例子

您的配偶問您是否按照您的意願支付了賬單。實際上,您尚未這樣做。您知道,儘管您不確定,但您的配偶很有可能會在您同意的時候發現自己沒有這樣做。

嚇壞了的人想說:“我當然做到了,親愛的。”如果您說實話,您會感到害怕,他們會比以前更加沮喪和信任您。

無所畏懼的人在想:“讓我們告訴她真相,道歉,然後在一天結束之前解決它。” Fearless願意接受憤怒和缺乏信任的短期代價,因為配偶有可能發現自己撒了謊,這在憤怒,對人際關係的損害以及更深層次的後果方面會帶來長期後果。缺乏信任可能會比您現在撒謊造成的損失要大得多。

什麼是無畏的完整性?

受驚無懼的誠信的含義是尋找我們這兩個受驚的人和我們的無畏者之間相互合作和統一的方式。我們的受驚嚇者的工作是設法避免我們因恐懼而伴隨的短期不適,並獲得短期利益並避免短期成本。無所畏懼的工作是確保面對恐懼會採取這些行動,這可能會為我們創造更好的未來,同時還要考慮不面對恐懼可能帶來的短期成本和收益。創造這種誠信的主要工具之一是“不懼怕” 。 FFI工具箱中包含更完整的工具集。

Frightened-Fearless Integrity

Choosing courage = creating Frightened-Fearless Integrity

What I've gotten clear about recently is that what I have been calling the four-step process of choosing courage is one of the major, important sub-categories of creating Now-Next Integrity. Logically, the toolkit for what I have previously called choosing courage, which now is better described as creating Frightened-Fearless Integrity, is just toolkit inside of the NNI toolkit. It is so fundamental, however, it deserves its own toolkit, which I have recently renamed the FFI toolkit, previously called the CCC toolkit for Choosing Courage Consistently previously.

Giving "frightened" equal footing with "fearless"?!

The word frightened has a somewhat negative connotation, unlike the words Now and Oneself that I use to distinguish those two parts of us. Now's job is to try to be happy now, when it occurs to be in conflict with being happy in the future. Oneself's job is to take care of our own self-interests when they occur to be in conflict with the self-interests of others. 

Who is Frightened?

But what is Frightened trying to do for us? Its job is to try to feel safer and more comfortable now and to even alert us to possible short-term dangers or costs, like someone getting angry at us. Like Now, its job is to focus on the short-term benefits of feeling good now and not feeling bad now, as well as getting short-term benefits and avoiding short-term costs. Unlike Now, who's the "big boss," its speciality is trying to not feel frightened or unsafe in the short-term as well as gaining short-term benefits and avoiding short-term costs, whenever they seem to be in conflict with having the future that our Next is going for. 

Who is Fearless?

I'm designating Fearless as that part of us that wants our future to be good and not be bad. Fearless' job is to get us to push ahead regardless of the fear and discomfort experienced short-term as well as to accept any short-term costs and give up any short-term benefits in exchange for the benefits Fearless is interested in for our future.

Example of Frightened, who focuses near term, and Fearless, who's looking long-term

Your spouse asks you if you paid a bill like you said you would. In fact, you didn't do it yet. You know that, although you're not certain of it, there's a fair chance that your spouse will discover that you didn't do it by the time you agreed to.

 

Your Frightened is thinking of saying, "Of course I did, Honey." You're frightened they will get upset and trust you less than before if you tell the truth.

 

Your Fearless is thinking, "Let's tell her the truth, apologize, and then get it handled by the end of the day." Fearless is willing to accept the possible short-term costs of anger and lack of trust because, with the likelihood of your spouse finding out that you lied, the longer term consequences, both in terms of anger, damage to your relationship, and a deeper lack of trust that will be incurred will probably be much bigger than the costs that would be incurred if you lied now.

What is Frightened-Fearless Integrity?

The meaning of Frightened-Fearless Integrity is finding ways for mutual cooperation and alignment between these two parts of us, our Frightened and our Fearless. Our Frightened's job is to try to avoid the short-term discomfort we associate with facing our fears, as well as to gain short-term benefits and avoid short-term costs. Our Fearless' job is to ensure that we take those actions in the face of our fear that will likely create a better future for us, also accounting for the short-term costs and benefits that we might get from not facing the fear. One of the major tools for creating this integrity is Undoing fear. A fuller set of tools are in the FFI toolkit.