自私嗎?它是無私的嗎?

自私和利他(和它們的同義詞)一詞,除了它們分別具有貶義和稱讚的含義外,最常使用時沒有明確的含義。

讓我們探索幾種不同的情況,以弄清什麼時候自私與利他之間可能沒有差異。

在街道上幫助陌生人

是自私的還是無私的?

每當我為一個陌生人提供指導時,它並沒有擺脫我認為更重要的任何事物,並且給了我令人滿意的力量,愉悅和聯繫感。因此,這對我來說絕對是一種自私的行為(我在照顧自己和自己的榮幸)。有些人可能將此行為稱為無私的。如果是這樣,在這種情況下,自私與利他主義之間就不會有衝突。我相信,當其他人幫助我做出指示時,他們也表現得很自私。

志願服務,幫助湯廚房

這一行為可能帶來許多自私的好處。您會喜歡它的冒險,與同事一起工作和聊天,與顧客的聯繫和感激之情。而且您知道您不會犧牲任何照顧自己的生活所需的資源。在這種情況下,絕對是一件很自私的事。

但是,如果志願服務干擾了您的自我照顧,該怎麼辦?如果您這樣做是為了避免看上去不好或被別人指責怎麼辦?但是你還是這麼做了。你會稱之為利他主義嗎?如果是這樣,它會促進人與人之間的雙贏關係,而不是雙贏,因為所有人(短期和長期)的自私性都將融合在一起。

如果您在婚姻中不快樂,但又沒有擺脫婚姻,又沒有想辦法使自己幸福,該怎麼辦?

您是因為認為自己的配偶“需要”您而停留在婚姻中嗎?您之所以繼續婚姻,是因為您擔心如果您離開配偶,其他人(進而是您自己)會責備您,或者他們會為您的孩子建立“破碎的家庭”而責備您?您是否因為擔心在分居時會感到自己的感情而繼續婚姻?保持婚姻是無私的表現嗎?如果是這樣,它將促進人與人之間的雙贏動力。

您可以將這些動機稱為自私,但只能是短期的自私。您可以避免與被責備有關的恐懼。您可以避免與承擔與配偶離婚有關的風險帶來的恐懼。

您參軍,然後為自己的國家而戰死

死亡不是自私的事情,除非它是結束自己痛苦的最後手段。因此,的確,這種行為通常被描述為“英雄主義”和利他行為(從而促進了雙贏的世界)。但是,短距離的攻擊會利用自私的動機,這就是為什麼大多數參軍的人都會這樣做:我們變得對別人好。我們有一種歸屬感。我們必須避免看起來很糟(因為我們正在執行“職責”)。我們甚至可以一起享受訓練和戰鬥的友情。我們可能會喜歡別人告訴我們應該怎麼做的穩定感。正如我們中的許多人喜歡觀看動作電影一樣,一些士兵/戰鬥人員對所涉及的極端風險感到興奮。

自私與利他之間有明確的區別嗎?

我是一個自私的傳播者,無論是短距離的還是長距離的,都與他人一起努力與他們的自私相吻合。

讓我們為“自私”一詞創建一個新的稱讚含義。

Is it selfish? Is it altruistic?​

The words selfish and altruistic (and their synonyms), aside from their respective pejorative and laudative connotations, are most often used without clear denotations.

Let's explore several different scenarios to tease out when there may or may not be any difference between being selfish and being altruistic.

Helping a stranger on the street with directions

Is it selfish or altruistic?

Whenever I have helped a stranger with directions, it didn't take away from anything that I considered more important and it gave me a satisfying sense of power, pleasure, and connection. So it was definitely a selfish act for me (I was taking care of myself and my own pleasure). Some might call this act altruistic. If so, in this case, there is no conflict between selfishness and altruism. I believe that when others have helped me with directions, they too were acting selfishly.

Volunteering to help out at the soup kitchen

Many selfish benefits could flow forth from this act. You enjoy the adventure of it, the working together and chatting with your colleagues, the connection and gratitude you feel with the patrons. And you know that you're not sacrificing any resources you need for taking care of your own life. Definitely a great selfish thing to do within these circumstances.

But what if volunteering interfered with you taking care of yourself? What if you were doing it to avoid looking bad or being blamed by others? But you did it anyway. Would you call this altruism? If so, it promotes win-lose relationships between people, rather than win-win, where the selfishness of all (both short-term and long-term) dovetails together.

What if you are unhappy in your marriage, but you don't get out and you don't figure out a way to make it happy?

Are you staying in your marriage because you think your spouse "needs" you? Are you staying in your marriage because you fear others (and thereby yourself) will blame you if you leave your spouse or they will blame you for creating a "broken family" for your children? Are you staying in your marriage because of the fear that you anticipate feeling if you initiated a separation? Is staying in your marriage an expression of altruism? If so, it promotes a win-lose dynamic between people.

You could call these motivations selfish, but only short-term selfish. You get to avoid the fear associated with being blamed. You get to avoid the fear associated with taking the risks involved in separating from your spouse.

You join the army and then fight and die for your country

Dying is not a selfish thing to do, unless it's a last resort to ending one's own suffering. So, indeed, this behavior is often characterized as "heroic" and altruistic (and thereby promotes a win-lose world). However, short-range, it cashes in on selfish motivations, which is why most people who join the military do it: We get to look good to others. We get to feel a sense of belonging. We get to avoid looking bad (because we doing our "duty"). We may even enjoy the camaraderie of the training and the fighting together. We may enjoy the sense of stability associated with someone else telling us what we should do. Some soldiers/fighters get off on the excitement of the extreme risks involved, just as many of us enjoy watching action movies.

Do you have a clear distinction between what is selfish and what is altruistic?

I am an evangelist for selfishness, short-range and long-range, working together with others to dovetail with their selfishness.

Let's create a new laudative connotation for the word selfish.

COPYRIGHT 2018-2020 BY DWIGHT GOLDWINDE